

JOINT COMMITTEES

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

Inquiry into the impact of the exercise of law enforcement and intelligence powers on the freedom of the press

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 14 August 2019

Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

| Time | Witness |
|----------|--|
| 8.30 am | Australian Federal Police (Submission 21) Commissioner Andrew Colvin Mr Neil Gaughan, Deputy Commissioner Operations Mr Stefan Jerga, Chief Counsel Ms Alison Macdonald, General Counsel |
| 9.30 am | Department of Home Affairs (Submission 32) Mr Michael Pezzullo, Secretary Mr Marc Ablong, Deputy Secretary, Policy Group Mr Hamish Hansford, First Assistant Secretary, National Security & Law Enforcement Policy Division |
| 10.15 am | Attorney-Generals' Department (Submission 32) Ms Sarah Chidgey, Deputy Secretary, Integrity and International Group Mr Andrew Walter, First Assistant Secretary, Integrity and Security Division |
| 10.45 am | Break |
| 11.00 am | Australian Security Intelligence Organsiation (Submission 22) Ms Heather Cook, Deputy Director-General, Operations & Assessments Group Ms Wendy Southern, Deputy Director-General, Strategic Enterprise Management Group |
| 11.45 am | Office of National Intelligence (Submission 35) Mr Paul Taloni, Deputy Director-General Ms Susan Littlehales, Assistant Director-General |
| 12.15 pm | Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (Submission 28) The Hon Margaret Stone AO FAAL, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Stephen McFarlane, Assistant Inspector-General |
| 1.00 pm | Lunch |
| 1.45 pm | Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity Mr Michael Griffin, Integrity Commissioner |
| 2.30 pm | Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission Mr Michael Phelan, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jeremy Johnson, Chief of Staff |

| 3.00 pm | Commonwealth Ombudsman (Submission 14) Mr Michael Manthorpe, Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Jaala Hinchcliffe, Deputy Ombudsman Ms Mignon Lovell, Director, Assurance Branch Ms Emma Cotterill, A/g Senior Assistant Ombudsman, Assurance Branch |
|---------|---|
| 3.30 pm | Break |
| 4.00 pm | Law Council of Australia (Submission 40) Dr Natasha Molt, Director of Policy, Policy Division Mr Stephen Odgers, Member, National Criminal Law Committee Ms Pauline Wright, Treasurer |
| 5.00 pm | Close |