

#### THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY AND LEGAL AFFAIRS

## **Inquiry into local adoption**

## PUBLIC HEARING Friday 22 June 2018

#### Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
11.30 am	Roundtable - states and territories
	Australian Capital Territory Government (Submission 35) Ms Sarah Anderson, Senior Manager, Human Services Policy Ms Anita Chettur, Senior Manager Practice & Performance Child Youth Protection Services
	NSW Government (Submission 22) Ms Simone Czech, Executive Director, Child and Family, Commissioning
	Northern Territory Mr Luke Twyford, Executive Director, Strategy, Policy and Performance Mr Chris Simcock, Acting Executive Director, Operational Support
	Queensland Mrs Amanda Currie, A/g Deputy Director General, Chief Operating Officer Ms Megan Giles, Executive Director
	South Australia Ms Cathy Taylor, Chief Executive, Department for Child Protection
	Victoria Mr Mick Naughton, Director, Children and Families Policy, Children, Families Disability and Operations Division
	Western Australian Department of Communities (Submission 53) Ms Jackie Tang, Assistant Director General, Child Protection and Family Support Ms Helen Nys, Assistant Director General, Policy and Service Design Ms Felicity Bunt, Senior Legal Officer, Legislation Ms Audrey Lee, General Manager, Policy and Service Design Ms Diane Scarle, Director, Service Delivery
1.00 pm	Break
1.15 pm	Association of Children's Welfare Agencies (Submission 101) Dr Wendy Foote, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
1.45 pm	Barnardos Australia (Submission 52) Ms Deirdre Cheers, Chief Executive Officer

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY AND LEGAL AFFAIRS Inquiry into local adoption

2.15 pm	Anglicare Sydney (Submission 67) Mrs Elizabeth Byrne, Senior Program Manager, Adoption and Guardianship Ms Sue Madden, Manager/Principal Officer, Foster Care and Adoptions  Anglicare Victoria (Submission 68) Mr Paul McDonald, Chief Executive Officer
2.55 pm	Break
3.00 pm	Roundtable - Academics
	The Australian Catholic University (Submission 50) Prof Daryl Higgins
	Australian Catholic University (Submission 14) Prof Shurlee Swain
	University of Western Sydney (Submission 28) Dr Karleen Gribble
	Griffith University (Submission 6) Dr Patricia Fronek
	Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology Prof Denise Cuthbert
4.00 pm	Close