

JOINT COMMITTEES

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON LAW ENFORCEMENT

The impact of new and emerging information and communications technology

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 11 May 2018

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.00 am	Access Now - via videoconference (Submission 14) Mr Nathan White, Senior Legislative Manager Ms Amie Stepanovich, US Policy Manager and Global Policy Counsel
8.45 am	Panel: Data to Decisions Cooperative Research Centre (Submission 7) Dr Sanjay Mazumdar, Chief Executive Officer
	Law and Policy Program, Data to Decisions Cooperative Research Centre, UNSW Law (Submission 10) Dr Lyria Bennett Moses, Project Leader, Law and Policy Program Dr Sarah Logan, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Law and Policy Program
9.30 am	South Eastern Centre Against Sexual Assault & Family Violence - via teleconference (Submission 18) Ms Carolyn Worth, Manager Ms Juliet Summers, Team Leader Information Communication Technology Mr Miles Summers, Programmer/Graphic Artist Web Team
10.15 am	Morning tea
10.30 am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 21) Mr Morry Bailes, President Ms Olga Ganopolsky, Chair, Privacy Law Committee of the Business Law Section Mr Peter Leonard, Member, Media and Communications of the Business Law Section Dr Natasha Molt, Deputy Director of Policy
11.15 am	Victoria Police - via teleconference Detective Inspector John Manley
12.00 pm	United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) - via videoconference Mr Jeremy Douglas, Regional Representative Mr Alexandru Caciuloiu, Cybercrime Project Coordinator (Southeast Asia and the Pacific)
12.45 pm	Lunch

1.45 pm	Panel: Department of Home Affairs (Joint Submission 28) Mr Alastair MacGibbon, Deputy Secretary National Cyber Security Adviser Mr Hamish Hansford, First Assistant Secretary National Security & Law Enforcement Policy
	Australian Border Force (Joint Submission 28) Mr James Copeman, Commander
	Attorney-General's Department (Joint Submission 28) Mr Andrew Warnes, Assistant Secretary, Communications Security & Intelligence Branch
	Australian Federal Police (Submission Confidential) Deputy Commissioner Ramzi Jabbour, Deputy Commissioner Capability
	Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (Joint Submission 29) Mr Michael Phelan APM, Chief Executive Officer
	Australian Institute of Criminology (Joint Submission 29) Mr Michael Phelan APM, Director
	AUSTRAC (Submission 30) Dr John Moss, National Manager, Intelligence Ms Tania Churchill, Director, Enterprise Analytics
	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions Ms Sarah McNaughton SC, Director Mr Mark de Crespigny, Deputy Director, Illegal Imports and Exports/Human Exploitation and Border Protection
3.45 pm	Adjournment