

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Social Services Legislation Amendment (Encouraging Self-sufficiency for Newly Arrived Migrants) Bill 2018

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 17 April 2018

Plaza Ballroom Vibe Savoy Hotel, 630 Little Collins Street, Melbourne

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Brotherhood of St Laurence (Submission 13) Professor Shelley Mallett, General Manager, Research and Policy Centre Ms Hutch Hussein, Senior Manager, Refugees, Immigration and Multiculturalism
	Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network Australia (Submission 12) Ms Nadine Liddy, National Coordinator Mrs Derya Koksal, Policy and Advocacy Officer
9.45 am	Immigration and Advice and Rights Centre (via teleconference) Mr Ali Mojtahedi, Principal Solicitor
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.45 am	Settlement Council of Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 8) Mr Nick Tebbey, Chief Executive Officer
	Migration Council Australia (Submission 10) Ms Carla Wilshire, Chief Executive Officer Ms Christine Sarafian, Senior Policy Officer Ms Iona Roy, Manager, Secretariat, Harmony Alliance: Migrant and Refugee Women for Change
11.30 am	Australian Council of Social Service (Submission 14) Ms Charmaine Crowe, Senior Policy and Advocacy Officer
	National Social Security Rights Network (Submission 15) Ms Joni Gear, Legal Project Officer (via teleconference) Ms Leanne Ho, Executive Officer
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.15 pm	Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia (via teleconference) (Su bmission 4) Dr Alia Imtoual, Director of Policy Ms Sara Lailey, Project and Policy Officer
	Ethnic Communities' Council of Victoria (Submission 6) Parsuram Sharma-Luital, Board of Director, Chair New and Emerging Communities Police Committee Mr James Houghton, Policy Officer

2.00 pm	Australian Lawyers Alliance (via teleconference) Mr Greg Barns, SpokesmanSettlement Services International (via teleconference) Ms Esta Paschalidis-Chilas, Manager of Government and Member Relations Dr Astrid Perry, Manager of Strategic PolicyRefugee Advice and Casework Service (via teleconference) Ms Sarah Dale, Principal Solicitor
3.00 pm	Carers Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 2) Ms Ara Cresswell, Chief Executive Officer Ms Tammy Wolffs, Senior Policy Officer Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (Submission 11) Ms Jana Favero, Director, Advocacy and Campaigns Mrs Abiola Ajetomobi, Director, ASRC Innovation Hub
3.45 pm	Department of Social Services (via teleconference) (Submission 5) Mr Shane Bennett, Group Manager, Payments Policy Group Ms Anita Davis, Branch Manager, International Policy and Payment Support Branch, Payments Policy Group
4.30 pm	Adjournment