

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Commonwealth Redress Scheme for Institutional Child Sexual Abuse Bill 2017 and related bill

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 6 March 2018

Flagstaff 1 and 2 Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens Hotel, 380 William Street, Melbourne

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service (Submission 14) Mr Alister McKeich, Senior Project and Policy Officer
	National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Services (Submission 68) Ms Karly Warner, Executive Officer
	Victorian Aboriginal Child Care Agency (Submission 36) Megan Van Den Berg, Executive Manager, Community and Training Engagement Jeannie McIntyre, Manager, Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse Support Service
9.30 am	People with Disability Australia (Submission 16) Mr Matthew Bowden, Co-Chief Executive Officer Ms Meredith Lea, Senior Policy Officer
	Berry Street (Submission 58) Mr Simon Gardiner, Senior Consultant Public Policy
10.15 am	Morning tea
10.30 am	Care Leavers Australasia Network (CLAN) Inc (Submission 60) Ms Leonie Sheedy, Chief Executive Officer
	Frank Golding (Submission 42)
11.15 am	Victims Of Abuse In The Australian Defence Force Association Inc (Submission 22) Ms Jennifer Jacomb, Secretary Mr Rohan Collins-Roe, Treasurer
11.40 am	Mr Andrew Collins (Submission 57)
	Ms Chrissie Foster (Submission 15)
	Ms Ellen Bucello, Independent Advocate (Submission 7)
	Mr Matt Jones (via teleconference) (Submission 6)
12.40 pm	Lunch

1.40 pm	Ryan Carlisle Thomas (Submission 5) Ms Penny Savidis, Partner and Head of Institutional Abuse Department Mr John, Individual Waller Legal (Submission 52) Dr Vivian Waller, Principal Solicitor
2.25 pm	Maurice Blackburn Lawyers (via teleconference) (Submission 28) Miss Michelle James, Principal Law Council of Australia (Submission 82) Mr Morry Bailes, President Dr Natasha Molt, Deputy Director of Policy
3.10 pm	Afternoon Tea
3.20 pm	 Truth Justice and Healing Council - Catholic Church (Submission 79) Mr Francis Sullivan, Chief Executive Officer YMCA Australia (Submission 37) Mrs Melinda Crole, Chief Executive Officer Ms Jacki Whitwell, Executive Manager, Social Policy
4.05 pm	Department of Social Services (Submission 27) Dr Roslyn Baxter, Group Manager, Families and Communities Reform Ms Brooke Hartigan, Branch Manager, Redress Policy and Legislation Branch Mrs Tracy Creech, Branch Manager, Redress Implementation Mr Alan Grinsell-Jones, Branch Manager, Legal Services Branch
5.05 pm	Adjournment