

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Adequacy of existing offences in the Commonwealth Criminal Code and of state and territory criminal laws to capture cyberbullying

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 9 February 2018

Committee room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australian Universities' Anti-bullying Research Alliance (Submission 1) Professor Marilyn Campbell, Founding Member Professor Barbara Spears, Member Professor Phillip Thomas Slee, Member
9.30 am	Law Council of Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 15) Mr Arthur Moses SC, President-elect Dr Natasha Molt, Deputy Director of Policy
10.30 am	Victorian Women Lawyers Association Inc (Submission 5) Miss Alex Dworjanyn, Law Reform Committee Co-Chair Miss Hayley Chester, Law Reform Committee Co-Chair
11.00 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	Alannah & Madeline Foundation (Submission 10) Ms Lesley Podesta, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jeremy Blackman, Senior Advocacy and Cyber Safety Advisor yourtown (Submission 6) Mr John Dalgleish, Head of Strategy and Research Ms Laura Clarke, Advocacy and Policy Lead
12.15 pm	Australian Women Against Violence Alliance (Submission 14) Dr Merrindahl Andrew, Program Manager Women in Media (Submission 26) Ms Liza-Jayne Loch, National Committee Member Ms Ginger Gorman, Women in Media Committee member, Journalist and Cyberhate Expert Ms Jenna Price, Women in Media Committee member, Journalist and Senior Lecturer, University of Technology Sydney
1.15 pm	Lunch

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Adequacy of existing offences in the Commonwealth Criminal Code and of state and territory criminal laws to capture cyberbullying

2.00 pm	Digital Industry Group Incorporated (Submission 17) Ms Nicole Buskiewicz, Managing Director Facebook (Submission 4) Ms Julie De Bailliencourt, Head of Global Safety Outreach Ms Mia Garlick, Director of Policy, Australia & New Zealand Instagram (Submission 3) Ms Julie De Bailliencourt, Head of Global Safety Outreach Ms Mia Garlick, Director of Policy, Australia & New Zealand
3.00 pm	Afternoon tea
3.15 pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 16) Ms Megan Mitchell, National Children's Commissioner Mental Health Commissions of Australia (Submission 9)
	Ms Vanessa D'Souza, Acting Director, Policy, Analysis and Reporting Ms Alicia Lippiatt, Senior Policy and Project Officer
4.15 pm	Office of the eSafety Commissioner (Submission 13) Ms Julie Inman Grant, eSafety Commissioner Ms Maria Vassiliadis, Executive Manager Mr Toby Dagg, Acting Manager Compliance Tools and Citizen Services
5.15 pm	Adjournment