

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Commonwealth Redress Scheme for Institutional Child Sexual Abuse Bill 2017 and related bill

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 16 February 2018

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Blue Knot Foundation (Submission 1) Dr Cathy Kezelman AM, President
	Centre Against Sexual Violence Inc. (Submission 21) Miss Miranda Clarke, Royal Commission Liaison / Sexual Assault Counsellor
	Yorgum Aboriginal Corporation Mrs Laurel Sellers, Chief Executive Officer
	Living Well – Anglicare Southern Queensland Dr Gary Foster, Manager
9.30 am	Alliance for Forgotten Australians (Submission 2) Ms Caroline Carroll, Chair Mr Boris Kaspiev, Executive Officer
	Bravehearts Foundation (Submission 26) Ms Carol Ronken, Director of Research
10.30 am	Morning Tea
10.45 am	Tuart Place (Submission 19) Mr Ron Love, Chairperson for Forgotten Australians Coming Together (FACT) Dr Philippa White, Director
	Anglicare WA (via teleconference) (Submission 10) Mr Mark Glasson, Director Services Ms Linda Jenkins, Manager, South East Metro Services
11.45 am	The Healing Foundation Mr Richard Weston, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lisa Hillan, Director, Programs and Knowledge Creation
	Dr Hannah McGlade, Senior Indigenous Research Fellow, Curtin University (via teleconference)
12.30 pm	Lunch

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Commonwealth Redress Scheme for Institutional Child Sexual Abuse Bill 2017 and related bill

1.15 pm	knowmore legal service (Submission 31) Mr Warren Strange, Executive Officer
	Professor Kathleen Daly (Submission 44)
2.00 pm	Mr Mark King (Submission 40)
	Victorian Kids in Care Advocacy Service (Submission 41) Mr Duncan Storrar, Director
2.30 pm	Anglican Church of Australia (Submission 30) Ms Anne Hywood, General Secretary Mr Garth Blake AM SC, Chair, Royal Commission Working Group The Salvation Army Australia (Submission 30) Lieutenant-Colonel Kelvin Merrett, National Secretary for Personnel Mr Luke Geary, Solicitor
	Uniting Church in Australia (Submission 30) Rev John Cox, Executive Officer, Royal Commission Task Group Ms Katrina Gillies, Member, National Redress Task Group Scouts Australia (Submission 35) Mr Neville Tomkins, National Co-ordinator (Redress) Mrs Cathy Morcom, National General Manager
3.45 pm	Afternoon Tea
4.00 pm	Department of Social Services (Submission 27) Ms Barbara Bennett, Deputy Secretary Dr Roslyn Baxter, Group Manager, Families and Communities Reform Mrs Tracy Creech, Branch Manager, Redress Implementation Ms Brooke Hartigan, Branch Manager, Redress Policy and Legislation Mr Alan Grinsell-Jones, Deputy Chief legal Counsel and Branch Manager, Legal Services Branch
	Department of Human Services Ms Maree Bridger, General Manager, Child Support and Redress Ms Susan Cartwright, National Manager Ms Melissa Ryan, Acting Deputy Secretary
5.00 pm	Adjournment