

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Serious allegations of abuse, self-harm and neglect of asylum seekers in relation to the Nauru Regional Processing Centre, and any like allegations in relation to the Manus Regional Processing Centre

## PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 15 March 2017

## Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Amnesty International (Submission 6) Dr Anna Neistat, Senior Director for Research (via teleconference) Dr Graham Thom, Refugee Coordinator, Amnesty International Australia Ms Stephanie Cousins, Advocacy and External Affairs Manager, Amnesty International Australia
9.45 am	In camera
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.45 am	Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Doris Gibb, Acting Deputy Ombudsman
11.30 am	Comcare Ms Lynette MacLean, Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr Anthony Bucher, Senior Director, Regulatory Operations Group Mr Justin Napier, General Manager, Regulatory Operations Group
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.15 pm	Australian National Audit Office Mr Grant Hehir, Auditor-General Ms Rona Mellor, PSM, Deputy Auditor-General Dr Tom Ioannou, Group Executive Director, Performance Audit Services Group
2.00 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Mr Andrew Goledzinowski, Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking Mr Daniel Sloper, First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Division
2.45 pm	Afternoon tea
3.00 pm	(Responses to submissions from the Australian Medical Association, Amnesty International, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, and Doctors for Refugees): International Health and Medical Services (IHMS) Mr Damien Johnston, Chief Operating Officer Dr Kalesh Seevnarian, Senior Medical Director Dr Peter Rudolph, Area Medical Director – Offshore Dr Jo Holdaway, Medical Director, Mental Health

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Serious allegations of abuse, self-harm and neglect of asylum seekers in relation to the Nauru Regional Processing
Centre, and any like allegations in relation to the Manus Regional Processing Centre

3.45 pm	Department of Immigration and Border Protection (Submission 23) Mr Kingsley Woodford-Smith, Assistant Commissioner Detention, Compliance and Removals Division Mr David Nockels, First Assistant Secretary, Detention Services Division Ms Clare Roennfeldt, A/G First Assistant Secretary, Children, Community and Settlement Service Division Mr Stephen Hayward, First Assistant Secretary, Intergrity, Security and Assurance Division
5.15 pm	Adjournment