

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Indefinite detention of people with cognitive and psychiatric impairment in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 29 April 2016

Seminar Room 2 and 3 Monash Conference Centre, Melbourne

Time	Witness
9.15 am	Mr Ian McKinlay (via teleconference), Spokesperson, Aboriginal Disability Justice Campaign
	Office of the Public Advocate Victoria (Submission 58) Dr John Chesterman, Director of Strategy Ms Tess McCarthy, Policy and Research Officer Mr Bryan Walkinshaw, Advocate Disability Act Officer
	Victoria Legal Aid Mr Chris Povey, Program Manager, Mental Health and Disability Law Sub-Program Ms Eleanore Fritze, Senior Lawyer, Mental Health and Disability Law Sub-Program
	Jesuit Social Services (Submission 53) Mr Daniel Clements, General Manager Justice Programs Dr Glenn Jessop, Policy Manager
10.45 am	Morning tea
11.00 am	First Peoples Disability Justice Consortium (via teleconference) (Submission 39) Mr Scott Avery, Policy and Research Director
	National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Services (Submission 34) Ms Karly Warner, Executive Officer
12.00 pm	Melbourne Social Equity Institute and Hallmark Disability Research Initiative (via teleconference) (Submission 5) Dr Anna Arstein-Kerslake, Chief Investigator, Unfitness to Plead Project
	Professor Patrick Keyzer (Submission 39)
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.45 pm	Australian Law Reform Commission (via teleconference) (Submission 4) Professor Rosalind Croucher, President

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Indefinite detention of people with cognitive and psychiatric impairment in Australia

2.30 pm	National Disability Services (Submission 32) Dr Ken Baker, Chief Executive Ms Philippa Angley, Executive Officer to the Chief Executive Australian Community Services Organisation Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (Submission 17) Dr Chad Bennett, Chair, Section for the Psychiatry of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea
3.30 pm	Ms Jody Barney
4.00 pm	Adjournment