

SELECT COMMITTEE ON HEALTH

Health

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 7 March 2016

Undumbi Room Queensland Parliament House, Cnr George and Alice Streets, Brisbane

Time	Witness
8.00 am	Mr Percy Verrall, Private capacity
	Mrs Daphne Verrall, Private capacity
	Mr Ian Hiscock, Private capacity
8.45 am	Via teleconference: Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (Submission 194) Associate Professor Deborah Yates, Occupational & Environmental Special Interest Group Convener Dr Ryan Hoy, Convenor, Occupational Lung Disease, Special Interest Group
9.30 am	Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (Submission 196) Dr Richard Slaughter, Representative Mr Mark Nevin, Senior Executive Officer
10.15 am	Break
10.35 am	Mining Companies Panel: Vale Australia Mr Andrew Vella, General Manager, Operations and SSE Carborough Downs Dr Edward Foley, Nominated Medical Advisor - Carborough Downs Anglo American Coal Mr Mike Oswell, Head of Safety and Sustainability Dr Rob McCartney, Resile Occupational and Environmental Physician, Coal Australia Chief Medical Officer Ms Liz Sanderson, Occupational Health Specialist
11.20 am	Mr Dan Proffitt, Mine Operations Manager, Grasstree Mine CFMEU Mining and Energy Division (Submission 199) Mr Andrew Vickers, General Secretary Mr Steve Smyth, District President Mr Jason Hill, Industry safety and health Representative
12.25 pm	Queensland Resources Council (Submission 195) Mr Michael Roche, Chief Executive Ms Judy Bertram, Director, Community, Skills & Safety Policy Ms Liz Sanderson, Technical Expert - Industry Mr Nev McAlary, Technical Expert - Industry

SELECT COMMITTEE ON HEALTH Health

1.10 pm	Break
2.00 pm	Review of Coal Miners' Health Scheme Professor David Cliff, Independent Chair
2.45 pm	Via teleconference: Monash University Professor Malcolm Sim, Director, Centre for Occupational & Environmental Health Associate Professor Deborah Glass
3.30 pm	Queensland Government: Department of Natural Resources and Mines Mr James Purtill, Director-General
	Queensland Health Dr Jeannette Young, Chief Health Officer and Deputy Director-General, Prevention Division Ms Sophie Dwyer, Executive Director, Health Protection Branch, Prevention Division
4.15 pm	Adjournment