

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The matter of a popular vote, in the form of a plebiscite or referendum, on the matter of marriage in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 10 September 2015

Committee room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
3.45 pm	Panel: Public Law & Policy Research Unit, The University of Adelaide (Submission 2) Dr Adam Webster, Lecturer
	Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law, UNSW (via teleconference) (Submission 11) Professor Andrew Lynch
	Castan Centre for Human Rights Law - (via videoconference) (Submission 12) Associate Professor Paula Gerber, Deputy Director
	Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 33) Ms Anna Brown, Director
	Ambrose Centre (Submission 35) Mr Rocco Mimmo, Founder & Chairman
4.30 pm	Panel: Australian Christian Lobby (No submission) Mr Lyle Shelton, Managing Director
	Australian Catholic Bishops Conference (Submission 24) Mr Jeremy Stuparich, Public Policy Director
	Australian Family Association (via teleconference) (Submission 16) Ms Terri Kelleher, Victorian President
	Family Life International Australia (via videoconference) (No Submission) Mr Paul Hanrahan, Executive Director
	FamilyVoice Australia (via teleconference) (Submission 23) Dr David Phillips, National Director
	Lawyers for the Preservation of the Definition of Marriage (via teleconference) (Submission 20) Mr Christoper Brohier, Founding Lawyer Professor Michael Quinlan, Senior Member

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE The matter of a popular vote, in the form of a plebiscite or referendum, on the matter of marriage in Australia

5.15 pm	Panel: NSW Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby (Submission 14) Dr Justin Koonin, Convenor
	NSW Parliamentary Working Group on Marriage Equality (Submission 27) The Hon. Trevor Khan MLC The Hon. Penny Sharpe MLC
	Australian Marriage Equality (Submission 17) Mr Rodney Croome, National Director
	Victorian Gay & Lesbian Rights Lobby (Submission 29) Mr Sean Mulcahy, Co-Convenor
	Rainbow Families Council (via videoconference) (Submission 13) Mr Brian Barry, Co-Convenor Ms Amelia Bassett, Co-Convenor
	Brisbane LGBTIQ Action Group (via teleconference) (Submission 34) Mr Phillip Browne, Convenor
6.00 pm	Dinner break
6.45 pm	Gay and Lesbian Health Victoria (Submission 28) Mr William Leonard, Director
	Psychologists for Marriage Equality (via teleconference) (Submission 30) Mr Ben Callegari, Clinical Psychologist/Spokesperson
	Australian Psychological Society (Submission 31) Dr Sharon Dane, Member (via teleconference) Dr Liz Short, Member
7.30 pm	Professor Anne Twomey (via teleconference) (Submission 6)
	Professor Geoffrey Lindell AM (via teleconference) (Submission 4)
	Professor George Williams (via videoconference) (Submission 32)
8.30 pm	Australian Electoral Commission (Submission 26) Mr Tom Rogers, Australian Electoral Commissioner Mr Paul Pirani, Chief Legal Officer
9.30 pm	Adjournment