

#### ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Landholders' Right to Refuse (Gas and Coal) Bill 2015

## PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 28 July 2015

#### Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, CANBERRA

| Time     | Witness   |
|----------|---|
| 9.00 am  | Department of the Environment Mr Dean Knudson, First Assistant Secretary, Environment Standards Division Dr Diana Wright, First Assistant Secretary, Science Division Mr Shane Gaddes, Assistant Secretary, Environment Standards Division Ms Gayle Milnes, Assistant Secretary, Office of Water Science Mr Rob Sturgiss, Assistant Secretary, National Inventory Systems and International Reporting Branch Mr Simon Banks, Assistant Secretary, Environment Standards Division  |
| 10.00 am | Department of Agriculture (Submission 26) Mr Ian Thompson, First Assistant Secretary, Sustainability and Biosecurity Policy Division Ms Sally Standen, Assistant Secretary, Sustainable Agriculture Branch Mr Ian Towers, Director-NRM Policy, Sustainable Agriculture Branch  Department of Industry and Science (Submission 31) Ms Margaret Sewell, Head of Division, Energy Dr Chris Locke, General Manager, Onshore Gas and Governance Branch Ms Nicole Hinton, Manager, Unconventional Gas Section Mr Peter Stafford, Senior Policy Advisor, Coal and Minerals Productivity Branch |
| 10.45 am | Break   |
| 11.00 am | National Farmers' Federation (Submission 28) Mr Charlie Thomas, General Manager, Agribusiness & Rural Affairs Ms Danica Leys, Policy Director, Environment, NSW Farmers Association   |
| 11.40 am | CSIRO Dr Peter Mayfield, Flagship Director, Energy Dr Damien Barrett, Research Director, Energy   |
| 12.20 pm | Lunch   |
| 1.20 pm  | Professor Samantha Hepburn (by teleconference) (Submission 86)  |
| 2.00 pm  | Minerals Council of Australia (Submission 41) Ms Kirsten Livermore, Acting Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community Policy   |
|          | Queensland Resources Council (Submission 48) Ms Katie-Anne Mulder, Resources Policy Manager   |

# ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Landholders' Right to Refuse (Gas and Coal) Bill 2015

| 2.40 pm | Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (APPEA) (Submis sion 21) Mr Rick Wilkinson, Chief Technical Officer Mr Matthew Paull, Policy Director, Queensland |
|---------|---|
| 3.20 pm | Adjournment   |