

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Availability of new, innovative and specialist cancer drugs in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 20 April 2015

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Medicines Australia (Submission 142) Mr Tim James, Chief Executive Officer Mr David Gallagher, Board Member Dr Mark Tennyson, Board Member
9.20 am	Ovarian Cancer Australia (Submission 137) Dr Kathy Nielsen, Director, Research and Advocacy Australian Melanoma Research Foundation (Submission 199) Mr Brendan Coventry, Research Director Mr Martin Ashdown, Research Fellow, Faculty of Medicine, University of Melbourne Leukaemia Foundation of Australia (Submission 123) Mr Anthony Steele, Head of Blood Cancer Support Mr Chris Brugger Mrs Naomi Brugger Cure Brain Cancer Foundation (Submission 187) Mr Barrie Littlefield, Head of Engagement Ms Michelle Stewart, Head of Research Strategy
10.25 am	Novartis Oncology (Submission 87) Mr Christoph Lorez, General Manager Ms Jodie Thomas, Head of Access to Medicines and Pricing Merck Sharp and Dohme Australia (Submission 120) Ms Christian Sellars, Director, Market Access and Public Affairs Ms Nicola Richards, Head of Public Affairs Roche Products (Submission 114) Mr David Pullar, Government Affairs and Public Policy Manager Ms Carlene Todd, Director, Market Access and Pricing
11.15 am	Morning tea

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Availability of new, innovative and specialist cancer drugs in Australia

11.25 am	CanTeen (Submission 146) Mr Peter Orchard, Chief Executive Officer Dr Michael Osborn, Lead Clinician, Youth Cancer Service South Australian/Northern Territory
	Australian and New Zealand Children's Haematology Oncology Group (Submissi on 152) Dr Chris Fraser, Chair Dr Luce Dalla-Pozza, Board Member
	The Kids' Cancer Project (Submission 192) Mr Peter Neilson, Director of Strategy and Partnerships Ms Sue Anderson Ms Brianna Preobrajensky
12.35 pm	Rare Cancers Australia (Submission 92) Mr Richard Vines, Executive Chair Mr John Cannings
	Unicorn Foundation (Submission 130) Ms Simone Leyden, Chief Executive Officer
1.25 pm	Lunch
1.55 pm	Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (Submission 112) Ms Emily Diprose, Federal Councillor (ACT Representative) Ms Susan Alexander, Member
	Cancer Council Australia and Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (Submission
	Mr Paul Grogan, Director, Public Policy and Advocacy, Cancer Council Australia Mrs Suzanne Kirsa, Advisor and Member, Clinical Oncology Society of Australia
	Palliative Care Australia (Submission 83) Ms Amanda Bresnan, National Policy and Programs Manager Dr Michael Chapman, Secretary, Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine (Palliative Care Australia member organisation)
	Medical Oncology Group of Australia (possibly via Videoconference) (Submission 108) Dr Christopher Steer, Member
	Private Cancer Physicians of Australia Limited (possibly via Videoconference) (S ubmission 117) Dr Christopher Steer, President

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Availability of new, innovative and specialist cancer drugs in Australia

3.00 pm	Cancer Drugs Alliance (Submission 53) Professor John Zalcberg, Co-Chair Melanoma Patients Australia (Submission 116) Ms Hayley Andersen, Chief Executive Officer Advanced Prostate Cancer Support Group (Submission 105) Mr Jim Marshall, Convenor Australian Melanoma Consumer Alliance (Submission 144) Ms Louise Marshall, Founding Member Breast Cancer Network Australia (Submission 90) Ms Kathy Wells, Head, Policy, Research and Advocacy Mrs Karen Cowley, Consumer Representative and Cancer Survivor
4.10 pm	Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (via teleconference) (Submission 196) Dr Suzanne Hill, Former Chair
4.55 pm	Australian Government Department of Health (Submission 197) Mr Andrew Stuart, Deputy Secretary Ms Felicity McNeill, First Assistant Secretary, Pharmaceutical Benefits Division Ms Adriana Platona, Assistant Secretary, Pharmaceutical Evaluation Branch, Pharmaceutical Benefits Division
5.40 pm	Adjournment