

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The Commonwealth's treaty-making process

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 5 May 2015

Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House Canberra

Commencing at 9.00 am

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australian Council of Trade Unions Mr Andrew Dettmer, National President, AMWU Ms Gerardine Kearney, President, ACTU
	National Tertiary Education Union Ms Jeannie Rea, National President Dr Jen Tsen Kwok, Policy and Research Officer
10.00 am	by teleconference: Australian Human Rights Commission Professor Gillian Triggs, President Dr Helen Potts, Manager, Human Rights Scrutiny
10.30 am	Morning Tea Break
10.45 am	Australian Industry Group Mr Anthony Melville, Head of Communications Ms Louise McGrath, Business and International Advisory Services
11.15 am	Law Council of Australia Dr Brett Williams, Deputy Chair International Law Section
11.45 am	By teleconference: Environmental Defender's Offices of Australia Ms Rachel Walmsley, Policy and Law Reform Director Mr Nariman Sahukar, Senior Policy and Law Reform Solicitor
12.15 pm	Choice Mr Alan Kirkland, Chief Executive Officer Ms Sarah Agar, Campaigns and Policy Advisor
12.45 pm	Lunch Break
1.45 pm	Export Council of Australia Mr Andrew Hudson, Director
2.15 pm	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Mr Bryan Clark, Director of Trade and International Affairs Mr Andrew Willcocks, Certificate of Origin Compliance Officer (TBC)

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE The Commonwealth's treaty-making process

2.45 pm	Dr Hazel Moir
3.15 pm	Afternoon Tea Break
3.30 pm	Dr Matthew Rimmer
4.00 pm	By videoconference: Professor Luke Nottage Professor of Comparative and Transnational Business Law, Sydney University