

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

The ability of Australian law enforcement authorities to eliminate gun-related violence in the community

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 31 October 2014

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Crime Prevention Research Center (Submission 394) Dr John Lott, President (via teleconference)
9.00 am	Armament Research Services Mr Nicholas Jenzen-Jones, Director (via teleconference)
9.30 am	Panel: Shooting Australia (Submission 60) Mrs Catherine Fettell, President Shooters Union of Australia Inc. (Submission 101) Mr Graham Park Sporting Shooters' Association of Australia Inc (Submission 58) Mr Tim Bannister, National Chief Executive Officer Mr Geoffrey Jones, National President Historic Arms Collector's Council of Australasia Ltd (Submission 176) Mr Robert Courtney, President
10.20 am	Morning tea
10.25 am	Australian 3D Manufacturing Association (Submission 405) Mr Michael de Souza, Chief Executive Officer Mr Neil Sharwood, Operations Director
11.10 am	Crimtrac (Submission 87) Mr Doug Smith, Chief Executive Officer
11.40 am	Australian Crime Commission (Submission 75) Mr Paul Jevtovic APM, Executive Director Operations Mr Hamish Hansford, A/g Executive Director Strategy and Specialist Capabilities Dr John Moss, National Manager Intelligence
12.25 pm	Lunch
12.45 pm	International Coalition for Women in Shooting and Hunting (Submission 88) Dr Samara McPhedran, Chair
1.10 pm	Australian Institute of Criminology (Submission 76) Dr Samantha Bricknell, Research Manager (Violence and Exploitation) Dr Rick Brown, Deputy Director (Research)

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
The ability of Australian law enforcement authorities to eliminate gun-related violence in the community

1.55 pm	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 42) Ms Catherine Smith, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division Mr Andrew Warnes, Director, Criminal Justice Division
2.40 pm	Afternoon tea
2.45 pm	Australian Customs and Border Protection Service (Submission 61) Mrs Karen Harfield, National Director Intelligence Division Mr John Beveridge, National Manager Investigations, Compliance and Enforcement
3.45 pm	Australian Federal Police (Submission 182) Assistant Commissioner Julian Slater, National Manager Forensics
4.45 pm	Adjournment