

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Higher Education and Research Reform Amendment Bill 2014

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 10 October 2014

William Angliss Institute - Conference Centre Building A, Level 5, 555 La Trobe Street, Melbourne

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel 1: Dual sector providers:Federation University Australia (Submission 73)Professor David Battersby, Vice Chancellor
	Swinburne University of Technology (Submission 109) Professor Linda Kristjanson, Vice Chancellor Mr Andrew Dempster, Head of Corporate and Government Affairs
	Flinders University (Submission 116) Professor Michael Barber, Vice Chancelor
	TAFE SA (via teleconference) Ms Cathie Brown, Executive Director, Business Development and Regions Ms Sharon Guscott, Principal Consultant, Higher Educatoin, Business Development and Regions
10.00 am	Panel 2: Students: National Union of Students (Submission 130) Ms Deanna Taylor, President Ms Isabelle Kingshott, General Secretary
	Tasmania University Union (Submission 107) Mr Isaac Foster, President
	The Australian National University Students' Association (Submission 121) Mr Cameron Wilson, President Ms Laura Wey, Education Officer
	Australian Medical Students Association Ms Jessica Dean, President Mr Kunal Luthra, Vice President External
10.45 am	Australian Liberal Students' Federation (Submission 42) Mr Matthew Lesh, Secretary

11.00 am	Panel 3: Postgraduate students: National Indigenous Postgraduate Association Aboriginal Corporation (via teleconference) (Submission 108) Ms Vicki Speechley-Golden Ms Sharlene Leroy-Dyer
	Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations (Submission 132) Mr James Smith, President, University of melbourne Graduate Student Association
11.45 am	Open Universities Australia (Submission 52) Mr Paul Wappett, CEO
12.30 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Charles Darwin University (via teleconference) (Submission 85) Professor Simon Maddocks, Vice Chancellor
	University of Newcastle (Submission 119) Professor Andrew Parfitt, Acting Vice Chancellor
2.15 pm	Innovative Research Universities (Submission 88) Innovative Research Universities (Submission 88) Mr Conor King, Executive Director Professor John Dewar, Chair
3.00 pm	Break
3.15 pm	Australian Department of Education (Submission 98) Mr Robert Griew, Associate Secretary (Higher Education, Research and International) Ms Jessie Borthwick, Acting Deputy Secretary (Higher Education Reform and Support) Mr Mark Warburton, Acting Group Manager (Higher Education Funding and Implementation) Ms Virginia Hart, Acting Group manager (Research Funding and Policy) Mr Andrew Taylor, Branch manager (Data and Analysis) Ms Julie Birmingham, Acting Branch Manager (Finance and Implementation) Ms Melissa Reardon, Acting Branch Manager (Higher Education Reform Taskforce)