

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Comprehensive revision of the Telecommunications (Interception and Access) Act 1979

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 23 April 2014

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 34) Mr Phillip Boulten SC, Member, National Criminal Law Committee (Via teleconference) Dr Natasha Molt, Acting Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division Ms Sarah Moulds, Policy Lawyer, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division
9.00 am	Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity (Submission 11) Mr Philip Moss, Integrity Commissioner Ms Sarah Marshall, Executive Director, Operations
9.45 am	Rule of Law Institute Mr Malcolm Stewart, Vice President
10.30 am	Morning Tea
10.45 am	Racing and Wagering Western Australia Mr Richard Burt, Chief Executive Officer (via teleconference)
11.30 am	Office of the Australian Information Commisssioner (Submission 24) Professor John McMillan AO, Australian Information Commisssioner
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.10 pm	Commonwealth Ombudsman (Submission 9) Mr Colin Neave, Commonwealth Ombudsman
1.55 pm	Internet Society of Australia Ms Narrelle Clark, President
2.40 pm	Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (Submission 12) Ms Vivienne Thom, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Jake Blight, Assistant Inspector-General
3.25 pm	Afternoon tea
3.35 pm	NSW Council for Civil Liberties Mr Stephen Blanks, President (via teleconference) Mr Jackson Roger, Assistant Secretary (via teleconference) Dr Martin Bibby, Member of Executive Council (via teleconference)
4.20 pm	Blueprint For Free Speech (Submission 4) Mr Simon Wolfe, Head of Research (via teleconference)

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Comprehensive revision of the Telecommunications (Interception and Access) Act 1979

5.05 pm	Adjournment