The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson is the Director of the Australian War Memorial. He was previously a federal member of parliament (1996–2009), Minister for Defence (2006–07) and Australian Ambassador to Belgium, Luxembourg, the European Union and NATO (2009–12).

Helen Irving is a Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Sydney, where she teaches Australian and United States constitutional law, and researches constitutional law and history. She is the author of, among other works, To Constitute a Nation (1999) and Five Things to Know about the Australian Constitution (2004).

Colin Neave AM is the Commonwealth Ombudsman, Regional President of the Australasia and Pacific Ombudsman Region of the International Ombudsman Institute (and board member of the Institute), and Chair of the Pacific Ombudsman Alliance.

Ross Garnaut AO is a Professorial Research Fellow in Economics at the University of Melbourne (since 2008). He was previously a Distinguished Professor of Economics (2007–13) at the Australian National University, and Head of the Division of Economics in the ANU Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies.

Dr Simon Longstaff AO is the Executive Director of the Ethics Centre. He has a doctorate from Cambridge University where he worked on the philosophical underpinnings of democracy and their implications for the exercise of power by nominally democratic states.

Aaron Pegram is a senior historian in the Military History Section at the Australian War Memorial.

Glenn Ryall is a Principal Research Officer in the Legislative Scrutiny Unit of the Department of the Senate.

Navigation: Contents | Next Page