Papers on Parliament no. 67

May 2017

© Commonwealth of Australia 2017
ISSN 1031–976X (online ISSN 2206–3579)



Paul Strangio is an Associate Professor of Politics in the School of Social Sciences at Monash University. He has authored and edited numerous books on Australian political history, among them: Keeper of the Faith: A Biography of Jim Cairns (MUP, 2002); Neither Power Nor Glory: 100 Years of Political Labor in Victoria, 1856–1956 (MUP, 2012); and, with Paul ‘t Hart and James Walter, Settling the Office: The Australian Prime Ministership from Federation to Reconstruction (MUP, 2016).

Anika Gauja is an Associate Professor in the Department of Government and International Relations at the University of Sydney. She researches in the areas of comparative politics, membership and party organisation. She is the author of Party Reform: The Causes, Challenges and Consequences of Organisational Change (Oxford University Press, 2017), and co-editor of Party Members and Activists (Routledge, 2015) and Party Rules? Dilemmas of Party Regulation in Australia (ANU Press, 2016).

Tom Frame Tom Frame is Professor of History at the University of New South Wales, Canberra and Director of the Australian Centre for the Study of Armed Conflict and Society. He was the Anglican Bishop to the Australian Defence Force (2001) and then Director of St Mark’s National Theological Centre (2007). He is the author or editor of many books, including most recently Moral Injury: Unseen Wounds in an Age of Barbarism (UNSW Press, 2015) and Anzac Day: Then and Now (UNSW Press, 2016).

Anne Twomey is a Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of Sydney. She has previously worked for the High Court of Australia, the Commonwealth Parliamentary Research Service, the Senate Legal and Constitutional Committee and the Cabinet Office of New South Wales. She is exploring the intersection between the parliament and the executive in her forthcoming book on the reserve powers

Simon Jackman is CEO of the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney. From 1996 to 2016 he was a professor of political science and statistics at Stanford University. His teaching and research focuses on public opinion, election campaigns, political participation and electoral systems, with a particular emphasis on American and Australian politics. He is the author of Bayesian Analysis for the Social Sciences (Wiley, 2009) as well as numerous articles in leading political science journals.

Ivan Powell is the Director of Legislation and Documents in the Table Office of the Department of the Senate. He was previously Secretary to the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances.

Glenn Ryall is a Principal Research Officer for the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills.

Jessica Strout is a Principal Research Officer for the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances.