Ministry 14 December 2011 to 5 March 2012

14 December 2011 - 5 March 2012


Prime Minister
The Hon Julia Gillard, MP

(Deputy Prime Minister)
The Hon Wayne Swan, MP

Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research
(Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Chris Evans

Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Digital Productivity
(Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy

Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government
Minister for the Arts
The Hon Simon Crean, MP

Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon Kevin Rudd, MP

Minister for Defence
(Deputy Leader of the House)
The Hon Stephen Smith, MP

Minister for Immigration and Citizenship
The Hon Chris Bowen, MP

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
(Leader of the House)
The Hon Anthony Albanese, MP

The Hon Nicola Roxon, MP

Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
Minister for Disability Reform
The Hon Jenny Macklin, MP

Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
The Hon Tony Burke, MP

Minister for Finance and Deregulation
Senator the Hon Penny Wong

Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth
The Hon Peter Garrett, AM, MP

Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness
Minister for Emergency Management
(Vice-President of the Executive Council)
The Hon Robert McClelland, MP

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Minister Assisting on Queensland Floods Recovery
Senator the Hon Joseph Ludwig

Minister for Resources and Energy
Minister for Tourism
The Hon Martin Ferguson, MP

Minister for Trade
The Hon Dr Craig Emerson, MP

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
Minister for Industry and Innovation
The Hon Greg Combet, AM, MP

Minister for Health
The Hon Tanya Plibersek, MP

Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations
Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation
The Hon Bill Shorten, MP

Minister for Mental Health and Ageing
Minister for Social Inclusion
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Mental Health Reform
The Hon. Mark Butler, MP

Outer Ministry

Minister for Human Services
Minister Assisting for School Education
The Hon Brendan O'Connor, MP

Minister for Manufacturing
Minister for Defence Materiel
Senator the Hon Kim Carr

Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Sport
(Manager of Government Business in the Senate)
Senator the Hon. Mark Arbib

Minister for Employment Participation
Minister for Early Childhood and Childcare
The Hon Kate Ellis, MP

Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Defence Science and Personnel
Minister for Indigenous Health
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC
The Hon Warren Snowdon, MP

Special Minister of State
Minister for the Public Service and Integrity
The Hon Gary Gray, AO, MP

Minister for Home Affairs
Minister for Justice
The Hon Jason Clare, MP

Minister for Community Services
Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development
Minister for the Status of Women
The Hon Julie Collins, MP

Parliamentary Secretaries

Parliamentary Secretary for Trade
The Hon Justine Elliot, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
The Hon Mike Kelly, AM, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs
The Hon. Richard Marles 

Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
The Hon David Bradbury, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins

Cabinet Secretary
Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
Parliamentary Secretary for Industry and Innovation
The Hon Mark Dreyfus, QC, MP

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water
Senator the Hon Don Farrell

Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
Senator the Hon David Feeney

Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing
Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport
The Hon Catherine King, MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs
Senator the Hon Kate Lundy

Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
The Hon Sid Sidebottom, MP