Annex I countries

According to the Convention, Annex I countries are those industrialised countries that were 1992 members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, plus countries with economies in transition.

The complete list can found on the UNFCCC website.

The greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions targets for individual Annex I countries (prescribed in Annex B of the Kyoto Protocol) are differentiated to reflect their particular circumstances, including their state of economic development and access to low carbon technology (Art. 3(7) of the Kyoto Protocol).

Comments to:
Last reviewed 22 October, 2010 by the Parliamentary Library Web Manager
Commonwealth of Australia
Parliament of Australia Web Site Privacy Statement
Images courtesy of AUSPIC