Due to COVID-19 Parliament House has limited public access. Bookings are essential for all public visits.

New leadership for Territory oversight

Issue date: Friday, 2 August 2019

House of Representatives media release header

The Parliament’s Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories has started work under new leadership, after electing the Hon Keith Pitt MP as its Chair and Senator Carol Brown as Deputy Chair.

Mr Pitt said he looked forward to working with the committee to emphasise Canberra’s significant role at the heart of the nation.

In the last Parliament, the committee inquired into issues such as Commonwealth approval for the ACT’s light rail project, the strategic importance of Australia’s Indian Ocean Territories and Canberra’s national institutions.

The committee is a joint committee of the Australian parliament, comprising government and non-government members of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Its jurisdiction includes Canberra’s parliamentary zone and precincts; and the Australian Government’s interests in Canberra as the national capital.

In addition, the committee examines matters relating to Australia’s external territories including Norfolk Island, Christmas and Cocos (Keeling) Islands, and the Australian Antarctic Territory.

‘Australia’s external territories are unique places and communities that showcase the diverse landscapes and cultures that comprise modern Australia,’ Mr Pitt said.

‘The committee plays an important role in ensuring Parliament’s active oversight of these places, and I’m looking forward to the Committee’s engagement with these parts of Australia.’

Media inquiries
Mr Keith Pitt MP, Chair
(Liz Carson, Media Adviser)
E: Elisabeth.Carlson@aph.gov.au
T: 0427 653 814

For background information
Committee Secretariat
E: jscncet@aph.gov.au
T: 02 6277 4355

House of Representatives media release header