## **Estimates Opening Statement**

Since our last appearance before this Committee there have been changes to our Executive team and the structure of the Department.

The structure of the Department was updated to ensure that it aligns with our current purpose and functions.

To aid the committee, I will briefly outline the new structure:

- The Resources and Strategy Group, led by Ms Jane Urquhart manages resources-related matters, and strategic internal enabling services such as economic and analytical services and overall policy strategy, plus a new International, Trade and National Security Division.
- The Industry and Commercialisation Group, led by Ms Julia Pickworth focuses on industry development, resilience, commercialisation and the implementation of the National Reconstruction Fund. It includes a new Sovereign Capability and Supply Chains Division and a Commercialisation Division.
- The Science and Technology Group led by Mr Duncan McIntyre manages policy, programs and institutions that promote Australia's science and STEM capabilities. It includes a dedicated Science Division and a consolidated Technology and Digital Division.
- The Enabling and Business Services Group led by Mr Neal Mason comprises the Chief Operating Officer, the Chief Financial Officer, and Chief Information Officer divisions, as well as a new Grants Delivery and Business Services Division.

I am proud of the way our Department has implemented these changes, while at the same time supporting the government to implement their policies and programs.

This is in the context of the Department's purpose which is to help the Government build a better future for all Australians through a productive, resilient and sustainable economy enriched by science and technology.

Thank you