Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee

Answers to questions on notice

Agriculture, Water and the Environment Portfolio

Inquiry: Financial Framework (Supplementary Powers) Amendment (Agriculture,

Water and the Environment Measures No. 1) Regulations 2021

[F2021L00288]

Question No: IQ21-000073

Hearing Date: 02 August 2021

Division/Agency: Water Division

Topic: Independent advisory panel members

Hansard Page: 3

Question Date: 02 August 2021

Question Type: Spoken

Senator Sterle asked:

Senator STERLE: Tremendous. Who else was on the independent advisory panel that you said you chaired?

Dr Derham: The panel was made up of six members, of which I was the chair. Also joining me on that panel were Emma Bradbury, Gabrielle Coupland, Phil Duncan, Rachel Kelly and Michelle Hobbs.

Senator STERLE: And that information is publicly available?

Dr Derham: No, it's not.

Senator STERLE: Could you provide to the committee not only the members but their backgrounds, who they actually are and why they were chosen to be on the independent advisory panel, please?

Dr Derham: I'll take that on notice, Senator.

Answer:

The members of the Selection Advisory Panel for the first small grants round of the Murray–Darling Healthy Rivers Program were selected based on their skills and experience. A brief biography of each of the panel members is provided below:

Chair – Dr Peta Derham

Assistant Secretary, Healthy Rivers Branch, Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

Emma Bradbury

Ms Bradbury joined the Murray–Darling Association in May 2014 in the role of Chief Executive Officer and is a former councillor at Campaspe Shire Council. Ms Bradbury has extensive business management experience, having been director of a hydraulic engineering and mine maintenance business in Queensland's Bowen Basin for 15 years and Campus Manager of Bendigo TAFE, Echuca Campus. Ms Bradbury has a background in mixed farming and local government, and holds a Bachelor of Social Science and Graduate Diploma in Education.

Gabrielle Coupland

Ms Coupland owns and operates an irrigated mixed farming business in the southern Riverina of NSW. Ms Coupland has taken on leadership roles in community, agriculture and irrigation and is currently the Chair of the combined NSW Murray Local Land Services Landholder Community Advisory Group and Aboriginal Advisory Group. Ms Coupland served as Chair of Southern Riverina Irrigators until October 2018.

Ms Coupland has lived and worked across Australia with a career in the agribusiness supply chain in areas such as financial education, advocacy, marketing, wool valuing and auctions,

grain storage and succession facilitation. She has a Masters in Business Administration and an Associated Diploma of Applied Science (Wool and Fibre Marketing).

Phil Duncan

Mr Duncan, a Gomeroi man from Moree, has more than 39 years of experience working with Aboriginal people, communities and liaising with governments. He has provided high level policy and strategic advice to key Aboriginal representative organisations, state and Australian governments as well as key external stakeholder groups. Mr Duncan currently serves as the Chair of the Basin Community Committee, is on the board of the Natural Resources Access Regulator and is a consultant with Alluvium Consulting.

Michelle Hobbs

Ms Hobbs is an Associate Lecturer and PhD candidate at Griffith Sciences – Griffith University. Ms Hobbs' research interests include freshwater ecology of inland and tropical rivers, particularly invertebrates and fish. Ms Hobbs has several years of industry experience as an environmental consultant. This work has investigated population and community ecology of marine and freshwater systems and water quality assessments. Ms Hobbs has remote field experience including the Murray–Darling Basin, northern Western Australia, far north Queensland and Papua New Guinea, as well as international experience in the Philippines, Laos, Indonesia and Canada.

Ms Hobbs has also worked in policy (water quality) and wildlife conservation at the Department of Environment and Science (Queensland Government), contributing to policy strategies, community consultation and stakeholder engagement. In 2020 Ms Hobbs was a member of the Technical Advisory Group for the Native Fish Management and Recovery Strategy for the Murray–Darling Basin Authority. Ms Hobbs identifies as an Aboriginal woman and is of the Bidjara nation of Central Queensland.

Rachel Kelly

Ms Kelly has been a Policy Manager at the Ricegrowers Association since 2015 and is Vice—Chair of the NSW Irrigators' Council. Ms Kelly has a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce (Business Management) from the University of Canberra and is a graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Program, which she completed in October 2018. Prior to her current roles, Ms Kelly practiced law with an Echuca law firm, working predominantly within the areas of agribusiness, water law and litigation. Ms Kelly also held the role of Legal Officer at Murray Irrigation Limited for the Private Irrigation Infrastructure Operators Program in New South Wales.