The Senate

## Procedure Committee

Temporary orders on notices and formal motions

Second report of 2021

June 2021

© Commonwealth of Australia 2021

ISBN 978-1-76093-241-1

## Membership of the Committee

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan (President of the Senate, Deputy Chair) Senator Sue Lines (Deputy President and Chair of Committees, **Chair**) Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham (Leader of the Government in the Senate) Senator the Hon Penny Wong (Leader of the Opposition in the Senate) Senator Catryna Bilyk (Tasmania) Senator Slade Brockman (Western Australia) Senator the Hon Jonathon Duniam (Tasmania) Senator Katy Gallagher (Australian Capital Territory) Senator Rachel Siewert (Western Australia) Senator Dean Smith (Western Australia)

Committee on Procedure The Senate PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Telephone:(02) 6277 3364E-mail:procedure.sen@aph.gov.auInternet:www.aph.gov.au

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 International License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/</u>

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

## Procedure Committee Second report of 2021

## Temporary orders on notices and formal motions

1.1 In June 2020, the Senate adopted temporary orders limiting the number of general business motions that may be proposed as formal to one per senator per week, including a maximum of four motions per day from government, opposition and crossbench senators, respectively: 18/6/2020, J.2005-09. Those orders also placed a limit of 200 words on such motions, with exemptions, and asked the Procedure Committee to review the changes.

1.2 The committee has met to review the orders at meetings in February, March and June this year, and hopes to consult with senators on alternative arrangements early in the 2021 Spring Sittings. To that end, the committee <u>recommends</u> that the current temporary orders be extended until the end of the sittings on 9 August 2021.

Senator Sue Lines **Chair**