

## Parliamentary Joint Committee on the National Anti-Corruption Commission

## Report on proposed recommendations for appointments to the National Anti-Corruption Commission

The Parliamentary Joint Committee on the National Anti-Corruption Commission (the committee) was recently established to provide oversight of the forthcoming National Anti-Corruption Commission (the Commission).

Under section 178 of the *National Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2022* (the Act), the committee must approve or reject a proposed recommendation referred to the committee by the minister for the appointment of the Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, or the Inspector.

On 10 March 2023 the Attorney-General, the Hon Mark Dreyfus KC MP, referred to the committee proposed recommendations for the appointment of:

- the Hon Justice Paul Brereton AM RFD as Commissioner on a full-time basis for a period of five years;
- Ms Nicole Rose PSM as Deputy Commissioner on a full-time basis for a period of five years;
- Dr Ben Gauntlett as Deputy Commissioner on a full-time basis for a period of five years; and
- Ms Gail Furness SC as Inspector on a part-time basis for a period of seven years.

The committee has unanimously agreed to approve each of the Attorney-General's proposed recommendations. The committee's approval enables the Attorney-General to recommend each of these appointments to the Governor-General.

The committee intends that the tabling of this report will satisfy the requirement under paragraph 178(3)(b) of the Act.

The committee thanks the proposed candidates for putting themselves forward to be part of the Commission's inaugural leadership team. It also thanks the Attorney-General for supporting the committee to perform its statutory function in relation to appointments.

Senator Linda White Chair