

### LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

THE SENATE

#### **PUBLIC HEARING**

## Monday, 5 March 2018

## Lodge Room 2, SMC Conference Centre, Sydney

# Inquiry into the Bankruptcy Amendment (Enterprise Incentives) Bill 2017 and the Bankruptcy Amendment (Debt Agreement Reform) Bill 2018

Time Witness	
Time	Withess
9.30 am	Attorney-General's Department (submission 17, Enterprise Incentives; submission 17, Debt Agreement) Mr Michael Johnson, Assistant Secretary for Civil Law Unit Ms Melissa-Jane Ford, Principal Legal Officer for Private International Law & Commercial Policy – Civil Law Unit
10.15 am	Morning tea
10.30 am	Consumer Action Law Centre (submission 13, Enterprise Incentives; submission 18, Debt Agreement) Ms Cat Newton, Policy Officer  Financial Rights Legal Centre (submission 13, Enterprise Incentives; submission 18 Debt Agreement) Ms Karen Cox, Coordinator
11.00 am	Justice Connect (submission 18, Enterprise Incentives) Ms Victoria Edwards, Head of Pro Bono Partnerships Ms Alexandra Farmer, Principal Lawyer, Self Representation Service
11.30 am	Australian Securities and Investments Commission (submission 6, Enterprise Incentives) Mr George Stogdale, Senior Executive Mr Mark Pangbourne, Senior Specialist
12.00 pm	Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (submission 16, Enterprise Incentives; submission 4, Debt Agreement) Mr David Ross, Head of Determination, Financial Crime Intelligence Hub Mr Warren Gray, State Manager, NSW Operations
12.30 pm	Lunch

1.15 pm	Australian Bankers' Association Inc. (submission 15, Enterprise Incentives; submission 14 Debt Agreements) Mr Ian Gilbert, Executive Director Legal and Regulation
1.45 pm	Fox Symes & Associates (submission 10, Debt Agreement) Ms Deborah Southon, Executive Director
2.15 pm	Personal Insolvency Professionals Association (submission 13, Debt Agreement) Mr Richard Symes, Chair Mr Murray Grayburn, Director Mr Rasad Merchant, Committee Member, Secretary Mrs Melissa Glenn, Committee Member
2.45 pm	Credit Corp Group Limited (submission 8, Debt Agreement) Mr Thomas Beregi, Chief Executive Officer
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea
3.30 pm	Australian Restructuring Insolvency & Turnaround Association (submission 10, Enterprise Incentives; submission 9, Debt Agreement) Mr John Winter, Chief Executive Officer Mr Mark Wellard, Legal Director Mr Jason Porter, NSW Committee Member
4.00 pm	Australian Financial Security Authority (submission 14, Enterprise Incentives; submission 5, Debt Agreement) Mr Gavin McCosker, Deputy Chief Executive Mr Andrew Sellars, General Counsel Ms River Paul, AFSA Statistician Mr Paul Shaw, National Manager, Regulation and Enforcement Mr Dipen Mitra, Director, Insolvency and Trustee Service
4.30 pm	Adjournment