The Senate

Appropriations, Staffing and Security Committee

Annual Report 2019-20

© Commonwealth of Australia 2020

ISSN 1839-9630 (print) ISSN 1839-9649 (online)

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra

Membership of the Committee

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan (President of the Senate, Chair)

Senator Sue Lines (Deputy President and Chair of Committees, Deputy Chair)

Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann (Leader of the Government in the Senate)

Senator the Hon Penny Wong (Leader of the Opposition in the Senate)

Senator Raff Ciccone (Victoria)

Senator Johnathon Duniam (Tasmania)

Senator Katy Gallagher (Australian Capital Territory)

Senator the Hon Anne Ruston (South Australia)

Senator Dean Smith (Western Australia)

Appropriations, Staffing and Security Committee The Senate PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Telephone: (02) 6277 3398

E-mail: approps@aph.gov.au Internet: www.aph.gov.au

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/

The Committee

The Standing Committee on Appropriations, Staffing and Security, appointed under standing order 19, determines the amounts for inclusion in the parliamentary appropriation bills and reports to the Senate on its determinations prior to the Senate's consideration of those bills.

The committee examines matters affecting the staffing and administration of the Department of the Senate, including proposals to vary the staffing structure, and other matters referred to it by the Senate. The committee makes an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate's appropriations and staffing and related matters (standing order 19(3)).

Under standing order 19(3)(d), the committee has the explicit capacity to scrutinise security funding and administration and to advise the President and the Senate as appropriate. Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments and, following the adoption by the Senate on 27 November 2012 of the recommendation in the committee's 54th Report, the committee may advise the President and the Senate on the administration and funding of information and communications technology services for the Parliament.

The committee is chaired by the President and includes the Deputy President and the Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition as *ex officio* members.

Secretary

(John Begley)

Annual Report 2019-20

Introduction

- 1.1 The Standing Committee on Appropriations, Staffing and Security is appointed under Senate Standing Order 19. The committee inquiries into:
 - proposals for the annual estimates and the additional estimates for the Senate; 1
 - proposals to vary the staff structure of the Senate, and staffing and recruitment policies;²
 - the administration, operation and funding of security measures affecting the Senate and advise the President and the Senate as appropriate;³
 - proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments;⁴
 - the administration and funding of information and communications technology services for the Parliament,⁵ and
 - other matters as are referred by the Senate.
- 1.2 The committee makes this annual report to the Senate in accordance with Standing Order 19(3)(c).
- 1.3 The committee is chaired by the President of the Senate and includes the Deputy President and eight other senators. The Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition are *ex officio* members.⁶

¹ Standing Order (S.O.) 19(2)(a)

² S.O. 19(2)(b)

³ *Journals of the Senate*, No 89, 25 March 2015, pp 2412-13, S.O. 19(3)(d)

⁴ *Journals of the Senate*, No 200, 3 June 1987, p 1951

⁵ S.O. 19(3)(e)

⁶ S.O. 19(4)

Committee membership

- 1.4 During the 2019-20 financial year the following senators were committee members:
 - President of the Senate, Senator the Hon. Scott Ryan (Chair)
 - Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Sue Lines
 - Leader of the Government in the Senate (Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann)
 - Leader of the Opposition in the Senate (Senator the Hon. Penny Wong)
 - Senator Raff Ciccone (appointed 2 July 2019)
 - Senator the Hon Jonathon Duniam (appointed 2 July 2019)
 - Senator Katy Gallagher (appointed 2 July 2019)
 - Senator the Hon Anne Ruston (appointed 2 July 2019)
 - Senator Dean Smith (appointed 2 July 2019)

Committee activities

1.5 During the reporting period, the committee met on four occasions and tabled one report, its *Annual Report for 2018-19* (tabled on 20 March 2020).

Estimates for the Senate department

1.6 The committee received and noted quarterly updates on the financial position of the Department of the Senate throughout the year as well as the annual report of the department's Audit Committee. No report on the department's budget estimates was tabled during the year as a result of the Federal Budget being deferred to October 2020

Security and information technology

- 1.7 At each meeting of the committee the Chair updated the committee on matters pertaining to security, information technology and building works relevant to the Senate and senators, including the following:
- 3 December 2019, the committee:
 - discussed the annual report of the APH CCTV system, and
 - discussed the operation of the Electronic Access Card System (EACS), and in particular, the security and retention of data collected under the system and its interaction with parliamentary privilege. The committee noted that the Privileges Committee should be consulted regarding the development of guidelines addressing these issues.

27 February 2020, the committee:

- approved the draft of the committee's 2019 Annual Report;
- received a briefing on the CCTV Code of Practice review from the Department of Parliamentary Services;
- discussed the draft EACS policy and the requirement for appropriate protections of parliamentary privilege to be included in the policy, and
- received a briefing on the security of the Parliamentary Computing Network.

14 May 2020, the committee:

- received a briefing on substantial building works to be undertaken at Parliament House, including: works on the building's kitchens, necessitating changed catering arrangements;
- received an update on the EACS office entry system draft policy;
- received an update on the operation and review of the APH CCTV Code of Practice;
- received an update on the security of the Parliamentary Computing Network, and
- received an update on the future installation of upgraded mobile phone antennas around APH.

18 June 2020, the committee:

- received an update on building works at Parliament House;
- considered and adopted the draft *Electronic Access Control System* (EACS) Code of Practice (the Code);
- considered the CCTV Quarterly Report;
- received an update on the review of compliance with the CCTV Code;
- received an update on the mobile phone antennae upgrade, and
- noted that the Health and Recreation Centre is preparing to provide 24/7 access for Members of Parliament.

Senator the Hon Scott Ryan Chair