#### © Commonwealth of Australia 2016

ISSN: 2206-4036 (Print)

ISSN: 2206-4044 (Online)

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3823 Fax: 02 6277 5767

Email: <a href="mailto:human.rights@aph.gov.au">human.rights@aph.gov.au</a>

Website: <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/joint-humanrights/">http://www.aph.gov.au/joint-humanrights/</a>

This document was prepared by the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

## **Committee information**

## **Current members (May 2016)**

The Hon Philip Ruddock MP, Chair Berowra, New South Wales, LP Mr Laurie Ferguson MP, Deputy Chair Werriwa, New South Wales, ALP Senator Carol Brown Tasmania, ALP Dr David Gillespie MP Lyne, New South Wales, NAT Ms Cathy McGowan AO MP Indi, Victoria, IND Senator Nick McKim Tasmania, AG Senator Claire Moore Queensland, ALP Senator James Paterson Victoria, LP Senator Dean Smith Western Australia, LP

### Former members 2013-14

Mr Michael Sukkar MP

Senator Dean Smith (Chair) Western Australia, LP

Deakin, Victoria, LP

(20.08.12-present)

Mr Laurie Ferguson MP (Deputy Chair) Werriwa, New South Wales, ALP

(04.12.13-present)

Senator Sue Boyce Queensland, LP

(13.11.13-30.06.14)

Dr David Gillespie MP

Lyne, New South Wales, NAT

(04.12.13-present)

Mr Andrew Laming MP Bowman, Queensland, LP

(04.12.13-25.09.14)

Senator the Hon Kate Lundy Australia Capital Territory, ALP

(12.11.13-01.07.14)

Ms Michelle Rowland MP Greenway, New South Wales, ALP

(04.12.13-14.05.15)

Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens New South Wales, ALP

(13.03.12-30.06.14)

Senator Penny Wright South Australia, AG

(22.03.12-10.09.15)

Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP Hasluck, Western Australia, LP

(14.03.12 - 12.10.15)

# **Secretariat**

Mr Ivan Powell, Committee Secretary Mr Matthew Corrigan, Principal Research Officer Ms Eloise Menzies, Senior Research Officer Ms Alice Petrie, Legislative Research Officer