Membership of the committee

Members

Senator Dean Smith, Chair
Mr Laurie Ferguson MP, Deputy Chair
Senator Carol Brown
Senator Matthew Canavan
Dr David Gillespie MP
Senator Claire Moore
Ms Michelle Rowland MP
Ms Fiona Scott MP
Senator Penny Wright

Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP

Western Australia, LP
Werriwa, New South Wales, ALP
Tasmania, ALP
Queensland, NAT
Lyne, New South Wales, NAT
Queensland, ALP
Greenway, New South Wales, ALP
Lindsay, New South Wales, LP
South Australia, AG
Hasluck, Western Australia, LP

Functions of the committee

The Committee has the following functions:

- a) to examine Bills for Acts, and legislative instruments, that come before either House of the Parliament for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- b) to examine Acts for compatibility with human rights, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that issue;
- c) to inquire into any matter relating to human rights which is referred to it by the Attorney-General, and to report to both Houses of the Parliament on that matter.

Secretariat

Mr Ivan Powell, Acting Committee Secretary
Mr Matthew Corrigan, Principal Research Officer
Ms Zoe Hutchinson, Principal Research Officer
Ms Anita Coles, Principal Research Officer
Dr Patrick Hodder, Senior Research Officer
Ms Alice Petrie, Legislative Research Officer

External Legal Adviser

Professor Simon Rice OAM