Appendix 5
CLERKS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

	Period of office
JENKINS, George Henry, CMG (Acting*) (Sir George after retirement)	1.5.1901 to 6.7.1901
DUFFY, Charles Gavan, CMG	8.7.1901 to 31.1.1917
GALE, Walter Augustus, CMG	1.2.1917 to 27.7.1927
McGREGOR, John Robert	1.9.1927 to 28.9.1927
PARKES, Ernest William, CMG	27.10.1927 to 22.3.1937
GREEN, Frank Clifton, MC (CBE after retirement)	23.3.1937 to 25.6.1955
TREGEAR, Albert Allan (CBE after retirement)	27.6.1955 to 31.12.1958
TURNER, Alan George, CBE (Sir Alan after retirement)	1.1.1959 to 10.12.1971
PARKES, Norman James, CBE	11.12.1971 to 31.12.1976
PETTIFER, John Athol, CBE	1.1.1977 to 15.7.1982
BLAKE, Douglas Maurice, VRD (AM after retirement)	16.7.1982 to 30.7.1985
BROWNING, Alan Robert	31.7.1985 to 22.3.1991
BARLIN, Lyndal McAlpin, AM	23.3.1991 to 26.7.1997
HARRIS, Ian Charles AO	27.7.1997 to 4.12.2009
WRIGHT, Bernard Clive (AO after retirement)	5.12.2009 to 31.12.2013
ELDER, David Russell	1.1.2014 –

^{*} Mr Jenkins was never formally appointed Clerk of the House, was paid no salary during his term as Acting Clerk and resigned to resume his office of Clerk of the Parliaments of Victoria.