## Chapter 2

## House, Government and Opposition

## Parliamentary Secretaries (pp. 70–71)—renamed Assistant Ministers

In September 2015 Prime Minister Turnbull's ministry list renamed all 12 Parliamentary Secretary positions as Assistant Minister. Despite their new titles they remained designated as Parliamentary Secretaries under the *Ministers of State Act 1952*.

The role of Assistant Minister continues to be as described here under the heading Parliamentary Secretary and any reference elsewhere in this text to Parliamentary Secretary applies equally to Assistant Minister.