Contributors

Andrew Moore is an adjunct associate professor at Western Sydney University where he taught Australian history for thirty years. His most recent book, *Mr Big of Bankstown: The Scandalous Fitzpatrick and Browne Affair* (UWA Publishing, 2011) was shortlisted for the NSW Premier's Community and Regional History prize in 2012.

Her Excellency Mrs Menna Rawlings CMG has been British High Commissioner to Australia since April 2015. She has served in a wide range of Diplomatic Service roles since 1989 as well as Private Secretary to the Permanent Under Secretary in the Press Office and the Africa and European Union Directorates.

Jane Halton AO PSM is Secretary of the Department of Finance and was the Secretary of the Department of Health from 2002 to 2014. She holds the position of Adjunct Professor at the University of Sydney and the University of Canberra and is a Public Policy Fellow at the Australian National University Crawford School of Public Policy.

Michael Macklin was an Australian Democrats senator for Queensland from 1981 to 1990. During his term as a senator, Dr Macklin promoted several measures adopted by the Senate to further enable it to hold the executive to account.

Phil Bowen PSM commenced a four year term as the inaugural Parliamentary Budget Officer in July 2012. He was previously a member of the Board of Directors of the Asian Development Bank in Manila and has held senior public sector budget, financial management, property management, international development and civil aviation administration roles.

Chris Sarra is the founder and Chairman of the Stronger Smarter Institute and the author of *Strong and Smart—Towards a Pedagogy for Emancipation: Education for First Peoples* (Routledge, 2011) and *Good Morning Mr Sarra* (UQ Press, 2012). In the 1990s, as Principal of Cherbourg State School in south-east Queensland, Dr Sarra's pursuit of the Stronger Smarter philosophy significantly improved the educational and life outcomes for students.

Michael Sloane is a Senior Research Officer in the Procedure Office of the Department of the Senate.

Patrick Hodder is a Principal Research Officer in the Committee Office of the Department of the Senate. Between November 2013 and April 2015 he was a Senior Research Officer in the Legislative Scrutiny Unit of the Procedure Office.