BACKGROUND INFORMATION

35. The Agreement is open for signature to Parties to the Niue Treaty. To date, twelve Parties have signed the Agreement and six Parties have ratified the Agreement. The Agreement entered into force on 30 July 2014 when Samoa ratified (as the fourth party to ratify).

36. The current status of the Agreement is depicted in the following table:

| Party | Signature | Date of |
|------------------|------------------------|---------------------------------|
| | | Ratification/Approval/Accession |
| AUSTRALIA | 2 July 2014 | |
| COOK ISLANDS | 5 July 2013 | 27 March 2014 |
| FSM | 1 March 2013 | |
| NAURU | (signed but not dated) | 1 June 2014 |
| NEW ZEALAND | 30 July 2014 | |
| NIUE | 2 July 2014 | |
| PALAU | 9 November 2012 | 21 January 2014 |
| PNG | 6 February 2013 | |
| MARSHALL ISLANDS | 27 September 2013 | |
| SAMOA | 6 February 2013 | 30 July 2014 |
| SOLOMON ISLANDS | 2 July 2014 | |
| TUVALU | 6 March 2013 | 5 September 2014 |
| VANUATU | | 30 July 2014 |