

Appendix C — Witnesses who appeared at public hearings

Tuesday 6 June 2017 - Sydney

Private Capacity

Prof George Williams

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Dr Tamsin Clarke

Private Capacity

- Dr Luke Beck
- Dr Alex Deagon
- Dr Paul Taylor

Australian Catholic University

Dr Michael Casey, Director, PM Glynn Institute

Wilberforce Foundation

Mr Christopher Brohier

The University of Notre Dame Australia

- Professor Michael Quinlan
- Professor Iain Benson

Human Rights Law Alliance

Mr Martyn Iles

Private Capacity

Associate Professor Neil Foster

Wednesday 7 June 2017 - Melbourne

Human Rights Law Centre

- Ms Anna Brown, Director of Legal Advocacy
- Ms Lee Jia-Yi Carnie, Lawyer

Private Capacity

- Professor Carolyn Evans
- Associate Professor Patrick Quirk

Presbyterian Church of Queensland

Mr Mark Fowler, Legal Representative

Private Capacity

- Dr Augusto Zimmermann
- Mr Joshua Forrester
- Ms Lorraine Finlay
- Professor Gary Bouma

Religions for Peace Australia

Professor Desmond Cahill, Chair

Friday 27 October 2017 - Canberra

Australian Human Rights Commission

- Mr Daniel Nellor, Adviser to the Human Rights Commissioner
- Mr Edward Santow, Human Rights Commissioner

The Australian Law Reform Commission

- Mr Robert Cornall AO, Acting President
- Mr Matthew Corrigan, Principal Legal Officer

ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate

- Mr Sean Costello, Director, Civil Law, Legislation, Policy and Programs
- Ms Julie Field, Executive Director, Legislation, Policy and Programs

Attorney-General's Department

- Ms Autumn O'Keefe, Acting Assistant Secretary, Civil Law Unit, Civil Justice and Corporate Group
- Mr John Reid, Acting Deputy Secretary, Civil Justice and Corporate Group

Monday 30 April 2018 - Melbourne

Catholic Women's League of Victoria and Wagga Wagga

- Ms Francis Beaumont, Member, Social Questions Committee
- Mrs Madge Catherine Fahy, Treasurer, Social Questions Committee
- Miss Ann Robinson, General Secretary, Social Questions Committee

Islamic Council of Victoria

- Mr Mohamed Mohideen, President
- Mr Adel Salman, Vice-President

Refugee Council of Australia

Ms Louise Olliff, Senior Adviser, Policy and Community Engagement

Ethnic Communities' Council of Victoria

- Ms Marion Lau, Secretary
- Mr Peter Mousaferiadis, President
- Mr Nikolaus Rittinghausen, Policy Officer, Aged Care

DO, Mr Nha Tien, External Affairs Vice President, Hoa Hao Buddhism Congregation Australian/Victorian Chapter

Mr Du Tran, Secretary

Victorian Multicultural Commission

- Mr Antony O'Hea, Research and Policy Manager, Multicultural Affairs and Social Cohesion Division
- Ms Elizabeth Blades-Hamilton, Senior-Research and Policy Officer, Multicultural
- Affairs and Social Cohesion Division

Vietnamese Community in Australia/ Victorian Chapter

- Ms Vivienne Nguyen, President
- Mr Nha Tien Do, External Affairs Vice President

Private Capacity

Father Huy Hoang

Liberty Victoria

Mr Jamie Gardiner, Vice-President

Wednesday 2 May 2018 - Sydney

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference

- Bishop Peter Andrew Comensoli, Bishops' Delegate
- Dr Lee-Anne Perry, Delegate

Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne

Mr Francis Moore, Executive Director Administration

Open Doors

- Mr Michael Gore, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr Timothy Reid, Church Engagement Manager

Anglican Aid

- Mr Ronald JL Balderston, Volunteer Schools Liaison
- Mr Edgars Stanly Ozols, Operations Manager

Seventh-day Adventist Church in Australia

Pastor Michael Andrew Worker, Secretary

Christian Schools Australia and Adventist Schools Australia

- Dr Daniel Pampuch, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr Mark Spencer, Executive Officer Policy, Governance and Staff Relations

Anglican Schools Corporation

Mr Ross Smith, Chief Executive Officer

Falun Dafa Association of Australia Inc

- Mr John Deller, Secretary
- Dr Lucy Zhao, President

Private Capacity

Mrs Fengying Zhang

Executive Council of Australian Jewry

Mr Peter John Wertheim, CO-CEO

Uniting Church in Australia Assembly

- Mr Robert Samuel Floyd, Assembly Associate General Secretary
- Mr Stuart John McMillan, President

Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in Australia

Mr David Lyle Purnell, Public Officer

Freedom for Faith

- Reverend Michael Luke Kellahan, Executive Director
- Mr Robert James Wicks, Chairman

The Centre for Independent Studies

- Reverend Peter Walter Kurti, Senior Research Fellow
- Dr Jeremy Peter Sammut, Senior Research Fellow

Anglican Church Diocese of Sydney

Right Reverend Dr Michael Stead, Bishop of South Sydney

Amnesty International Australia

- Mr Joel Michael Clark, Advocacy and Government Relations Adviser
- Ms Katie Wood, Legal Counsel and Compliance Manager

Pagan Awareness Network

Mr David John Keith Garland, President/Public Officer

Tuesday 5 June 2018 - Hobart

Catholic Women's League Tasmania

- Mrs Patricia Gartlan, Life Member
- Mrs Anna Matuszek, Social Issues Convenor
- Miss Genevieve Rochecouste
- Miss Jacquelyn Rochecouste

just.equal and Tasmanian Gay and Lesbian Rights Group

Mr Rodney Croome

Private Capacity

- Ms Robin Banks
- Ms Anja Hilkemeijer

Cornerstone Presbyterian Church and Operation513 Ministries

Dr David Gee, Evangelist

Cornerstone Presbyterian Church, Hobart

Mr Campbell Markham, Minister

Archbishop of Hobart, Archdiocese of Hobart

Archbishop Julian Porteous

Friday 22 June 2018 - Canberra

Human Rights Watch

Ms Elaine Virginia Pearson, Australia Director

Australian Baha'i Community

- Dr Natalie Mobini-Kesheh, Director, Office of External Affairs
- Ms Shephalie Williams, Representative, Office of External Affairs

Private Capacity

- Dr Amelia Stephens
- Dr Rachel Hall
- Ms Alison Greig
- Mr Charles Wilson

Christian Faith and Freedom

Ms Elizabeth Kendal, Director of Advocacy

Civil Liberties Australia

- Dr Kristine Klugman, President
- Ms Elly McLean, Member
- Mr William Rowlings, Chief Executive Officer

Tibet Information Office

Mr Lhakpa Tshoko, Office of His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Central Tibetan Administration

International Coalition to End Transplant Abuse in China

- Mrs Susanne Gaye Hughes, Executive Director and Acting Chair, Australian
- Advocacy and Initiatives Committee
- Professor Wendy Rogers, Chair, International Advisory Committee

Ahmadiyya Muslim Association Australia

- Mr Hamed Ahmed, Human Rights Coordinator
- Mr Mohammad Atae Rabbi Hadi, Minister of Religion
- Mr Mohammad Nasir, National Vice President
- Mr Mirija Ramjan Sharif, Director of Public Relations

Australian Sangha Association

Venerable Tenpa Bejanke Duim, Committee Member

Australia Tibet Council

Mrs Kyinzom Dhongdue, Campaigns Manager and Executive Officer

Hindu Council of Australia

Associate Professor Hemanshu Roy Pota, National Executive Member

Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia

- Dr Alia Imtoual, Director of Policy
- Ms Sara Lailey, Policy and Project Officer