HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PETITIONS COMMITTEE

REPORT No. 14

Petitions

and

Ministerial Responses

4 September 2017

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Chair Mrs Lucy Wicks MP
Deputy Chair Hon Justine Elliot MP
Mr Russell Broadbent MP

Mr Russell Broadbent Ml Mr Scott Buchholz MP Mr Steve Georganas MP Mr Ben Morton MP Mr Ken O'Dowd MP Report relating to the consideration of petitions and matters relating to the petitions system

The committee met in private session on Wednesday 14 June 2017 and Wednesday 16 August 2017.

1. The committee resolved to present the following petition in accordance with standing order 207:

From 512 petitioners – requesting action on climate change (PN0074)

From 164 petitioners – requesting action on climate change (PN0075)

From 1890 petitioners – requesting examination of the environmental effects of a coal mine in the Sydney water catchment area **(PN0076)**

From 1423 petitioners – requesting reconsideration of the closure of the Australia Post Office at Everton Park **(PN0077)**

From 1122 petitioners – requesting the standardisation of taxation on alcoholic beverages **(EN0250)**

The following ministerial responses to petitions were received:

From the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection – to a petition requesting whether a parent of an adult child could fill in an adult child's Australian citizenship by descent form in 1981 **(EN0154)**

From the Minister for Small Business – to a petition requesting the reclassification of Islam as a religion **(EN0155)**

From the Treasurer – to a petition requesting the House debate the merits of the current share of the GST received by Western Australia **(EN0170)**

From the Minister for Education and Training – to a petition regarding a greater focus on mental health support in schools **(EN0175)**

From the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection – to a petition regarding the protection of vulnerable minorities and resettlement of refugees **(EN0185)**

The terms of the petitions and the responses will be recorded in Hansard.

Mrs Lucy Wicks MP Chair – Petitions Committee