

Appendix B – Public hearings and site inspections

Wednesday, 28 March 2018 - Canberra, ACT

Department of the Environment and Energy

- Ms Jody Swirepik, Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder
- Mr Mark Taylor, Assistant Secretary

Monday, 30 April 2018 - Albury, NSW

Charles Sturt University

Professor Robyn Watts, Environmental Sciences

CSIRO Land and Water

Dr Rick Stoffels, Research Scientist

La Trobe University

Professor Nick Bond, Research Centre, Director, School of Life Sciences

Murray Darling Association

- Ms Emma Bradbury, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr Ian Davidson, Chair
- Councillor David Thurley, National President

Southern Riverina Irrigators

- Mrs Gabrielle Coupland, Chair
- Ms Perin Davey, Executive Officer

University of Melbourne

 Professor Michael Stewardson, Discipline Leader, Environmental Hydrology and Water Resources

University of Melbourne

- Dr Avril Horne, DECRA Fellow, Water, Environment and Agriculture Program
- Dr Angus Webb, Senior Lecturer, Water, Environment and Agriculture Program

Victorian Environmental Water Holder

Mr Denis Flett, Chairperson

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Terry Hillman, Member

Monday, 30 April 2018 – Shepparton, VIC

The Committee held an informal meeting in Shepparton with representatives of organisations from the area.

Tuesday, 1 May 2018 - Mildura, VIC

National Irrigators' Council; and Central Irrigation Trust

Mr Gavin McMahon, Chairman; and Chief Executive Officer

Mildura Regional Development

Mr Daryl Buckingham, Chief Executive Officer

Mildura Rural City Council

- Mayor Mark Eckel
- Councillor Anthony Cirillo
- Councillor Jason Modica
- Mr Martin Hawson, General Manager Community

Renmark Irrigation Trust; and Renmark Environmental Watering Committee

- Ms Rosalie Auricht, Business Manager and Facilitator
- Mr R Humphrey Howie, Deputy Presiding Member and Chair

Private capacity

Dr Clayton Sharpe

Wednesday, 2 May 2018 - Murray Bridge, SA

Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations

Mr Grant Rigney, Acting Chair

Nature Foundation SA

- Mr Hugo Hopton, Chief Executive Officer
- Mr Bob Lott, President
- Natalie Stalenberg, Program Manager, Water for Nature

River Lakes and Coorong Action Group Inc, and Healthy Rivers Ambassador

Mrs Rosa Hillam, Member

Southern Fishermen's Association

- Mr Garry Hera-Singh, Chairman
- Mr Neil MacDonald, Executive Officer

Private capacity

Dr Anne Jensen

Wednesday, 23 May 2018 - Canberra, ACT

National Farmers' Federation

- Mr Les Gordon, Chair
- Mr Warwick Ragg, General Manager, National Resource Management

National Irrigators' Council

Mr Steve Whan, Chief Executive Officer

Wednesday, 30 May 2018 - Canberra, ACT

Australian Academy of Science

- Dr Stuart Barrow, Senior Policy Analyst
- Dr Stephen Turton, Chair, National Committee for Geographical Sciences

Gwydir Valley Irrigators Association Inc

- Mrs Zara Lowien, Executive Officer
- Mr Mark Winter, Vice-Chair

Wednesday, 20 June 2018 - Canberra, ACT

Ricegrowers' Association of Australia

- Mr Neil Bull, Environmental Projects Manager
- Mr Jeremy Morton, President

Northern Basin Aboriginal Nations Limited

Mr Frederic Hooper, Chairperson

Friday, 22 June 2018 - Sydney, NSW

Cotton Australia

Mr Michael Murray, General Manager

Environmental Defenders Offices of Australia

- Dr Emma Carmody, Senior Policy and Law Reform Solicitor
- Ms Rachel Walmsley, Policy and Law Reform Director

Macquarie River Food and Fibre

Dr Grant Stephen Tranter, Executive Officer

NSW Irrigators' Council

Mr Mark McKenzie, Chief Executive Officer

Private capacity

Professor Richard Kingsford

Wednesday, 27 June 2018 – Canberra, ACT

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

- Mr Paul Morris, First Assistant Secretary, Water Division
- Ms Mary Colreavy, Assistant Secretary, Water Recovery Branch, Water Division
- Mr Tim Fisher, Assistant Secretary, Murray-Darling Basin Policy Branch, Water Division

Department of the Environment and Energy

- Ms Jody Swirepik, Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder, Commonwealth Environment Water Office
- Mr Hilton Taylor, Assistant Secretary, Commonwealth Environmental Water Office

 Mr Mark Taylor, Assistant Secretary, Commonwealth Environmental Water Office

Murray-Darling Basin Authority

Mr Carl Binning, Executive Director, Partnerships Division

List of site inspections

- Monday, 30 April 2018 Goulburn River Weir, Victoria
- Tuesday, 1 May 2018 Chalka Creek and Hattah Lakes, Victoria
- Tuesday, 1 May 2018 aerial inspection of Menindee Lakes area, New South Wales
- Wednesday, 2 May 2018 Goolwa Barrages and Murray Mouth Lookout, South Australia