# В

# Appendix B –List of public hearings, inspections and discussions

# **Public hearings**

Tuesday, 27 July 1999 - Perth

# Agriculture Western Australia

Ms Celia Cornwell, Manager Policy and Legislation, Agriculture

Mr Robert Delane, Executive Director, Agriculture Protection

Dr M Dracup, Senior Research Officer

# Centre for Legumes in Mediterranean Agriculture

Dr Joanne Barton, Research Associate

Dr Nancy Longnecker, Coordinator, Education Program

Dr Penelope Smith, Lecturer

WA State Agricultural Biotechnology Centre, Murdoch University

Professor Mike Jones, Director

# Friday, 13 August 1999 - Melbourne

# **AgrEvo Pty Ltd**

Mrs Naomi Stevens, Regulatory Affairs Officer Crop Improvement

# Australian GeneEthics Network

Mr Robert Phelps, Director

#### **Department of Natural Resources and Environment, Victoria**

Mr John Blackstock, Principal Analyst Plant Industries

Dr Bruce Kefford, Executive Director, Primary Industries

#### **Nugrain Pty Ltd**

Dr Michael Dalling, Research and Development Director, New Technologies

#### **Organic Federation of Australia Inc.**

Mr Jason Alexandra, Organic farmer and member

Mr Scott Kinnear, Chairperson

#### Monday, 30 August 1999 - Canberra

#### **Australian Food and Grocery Council**

Dr Geoffrey Annison, Scientific and Technical Officer

Mr Mitchell Hooke, Executive Director

#### **CSIRO**

Dr Mikael Hirsch, Principal Adviser, Natural Resources, Office of the Deputy Chief Executive,

Dr Chris Mallett, Deputy Chief Executive

#### **Grains Council of Australia**

Mr Jock Kreitals, Deputy Director

Mr Leigh Spencer, Research Officer

#### **Grains Research and Development Corporation**

Mr Steven Lack, Acting Managing Director

#### **National Farmers' Federation**

Dr Wendy Craik, Executive Director

Ms Anwen Lovett, Deputy Director, Environment

#### Monday, 20 September 1999 - Canberra

#### Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Australia

Ms Virginia Greville, Assistant Secretary, Biotechnology and R&D Policy Branch

Dr Simon Hearn, First Assistant Secretary, Portfolio Policy & International Division

Mr John Madden, Director, Science, Technology & Innovation Policy Section

Mr Paul Trushell, Policy Officer, Multilateral Team, Plant Quarantine Policy Branch, Policy & International Division, AQIS.

Mr Douglas Waterhouse, Registrar, Plant Breeders' Rights Office

#### Heritage Seed Curators Australia

Mr Bill Hankin, President

#### Wednesday, 29 September 1999 - Canberra

#### **Agrifood Alliance Australia**

Dr Wendy Craik, Executive Member

Mr Claude Gauchat

Dr Stephen Prowse, Executive Officer

#### Monday, 18 October 1999 - Canberra

#### Australian Cotton Co-operative Research Centre

Dr Gary Fitt, Chief Executive Officer

#### Australian Cotton Growers Research Association

Mr John Grellman, Immediate Past Chairman

#### **Cotton Research & Development Corporation**

Mr Bruce Pyke, Research and Extension Manager

#### **Cotton Seed Distributors Ltd**

Mr Graham Windeatt, Chief Executive Officer

#### **CSIRO**

Dr Danny Llewellyn, Principal Research Scientist

Dr Jim Peacock, Chief, Plant Industry

#### Monsanto Australia Ltd

Mr Brian Arnst, Public Affairs Manager

Dr William Blowes, Technical Director

#### Wednesday, 8 March 2000 - Canberra

#### Australia and New Zealand Food Authority

Dr Paul Brent, Food Product Standards

Dr Marion Healy, Chief Scientist

Mr Peter Liehne, General Manager, Food Product Standards

Mr Ian Lindenmayer, Managing Director

#### Wednesday, 15 March 2000 - Canberra

#### **Department of Health and Aged Care**

Mr Terry Slater, National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration

#### Interim Office of the Gene Technology Regulator

Ms Elizabeth Cain, Head, Department of Health and Aged Care

Dr Deborah Maguire, Scientific Adviser, Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee Secretariat, Department of Health and Aged Care

Wednesday, 5 April 2000 - Canberra

#### **Department of Health and Aged Care**

Mr Terry Slater, National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration

#### Interim Office of the Gene Technology Regulator

Ms Elizabeth Cain, Head

Ms Andrea Matthews, Legal Consultant

Professor Jim Pittard, Chairman, Scientific Subcommittee, Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee

# Inspections and discussions

Perth – Tuesday, 27 July 1999

Meeting and discussions with representatives of:

Centre for Legumes in Mediterranean Agriculture

Council of Grain Grower Organisations

Export Grains Centre Ltd

Grain Biotechnology Australia Pty Ltd

National Association of Sustainable Agriculture Australia Ltd

Pastoralists & Graziers Association of WA Inc.

Seed Industry Association of Australia Ltd

The Grain Pool of Western Australia

WA Farmers' Federation

Western Australian State Agricultural Biotechnology Centre

Wesfarmers Dalgety

# Canberra – Friday, 10 March 2000

Meeting and discussions with representatives of:

Center for the Application of Molecular Biology to International Agriculture (CAMBIA)