

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

Inquiry into pay parking in the Parliamentary Zone

Inquiry into Pay Parking in the Parliamentary Zone Public Hearing, Wednesday 13 August, Canberra

Federal Parliament's Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital is investigating a proposal by the National Capital Authority to introduce pay parking in the Parliamentary Zone.

The introduction of pay parking is part of a proposed group of initiatives for the long-term development of the Parliamentary Zone, as set out in the *Parliamentary Zone Review Outcomes Report* released by the Authority in March 2000.

The final public hearing is to be held in Committee Room 2S1 at Parliament House, Canberra, this Wednesday evening (13 August).

The Committee will be hearing evidence from representatives from both the National Capital Authority and the ACT Government.

- Public Hearing: Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories: Inquiry into Pay Parking in the Parliamentary Zone
- Where: Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House
- Program: 6:00pm ACT Government National Capital Authority 8:30pm Close

The inquiry has received 55 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/payparking/index.htm

For **media comment**, please contact: Senator Ross Lightfoot, Chairman, Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories, on (02) 6277 3626

For **background information**, including the full terms of reference and copies of submissions, please contact the Committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4355 or visit the Committee website at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (*Chairman*) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- · Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NŚW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)