

Inquiry into the National Capital Authority

Issued: Friday 4 April 2003

New Inquiry

National Capital Authority under examination - Public submissions sought -

Federal Parliament's National Capital Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the National Capital Authority.

In particular the Committee will consider:

- the role of the National Capital Authority as outlined in the Australian Capital Territory (Planning and Land Management) Act 1988;
- the Authority's overall management of the National Capital Plan;
- management issues relating to designated land under the National Capital Plan; and
- the relationship between the Authority and Territory planning authorities.

Written submissions are sought from interested persons and organisations. Submissions should be lodged with the committee secretariat by Friday 23 May 2003. The inquiry will be advertised in Saturday's *Canberra Times*.

For further information concerning the inquiry: contact Quinton Clements in the Secretariat of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories on (02) 6277 4355 or via email at jscncet@aph.gov.au. Or visit the Committee's website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet</u>

Information about the National Capital Authority can be found at www.nationalcapital.gov.au.

To arrange media comment:

contact the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Ross Lightfoot on (08) 9344 8900 (electorate office) or the Deputy Chair, Senator Trish Crossin (08) 8931 0830 (electorate office)

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (Chairman) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Michael Johnson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Ryan, QLD)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)

BACKGROUND

The Commonwealth and ACT Governments share responsibility for the planning and development of Canberra.

On behalf of the Commonwealth, the National Capital Authority administers and implements the National Capital Plan. The object of the Plan is to "ensure that Canberra and the Territory are planned in accordance with their national significance".

The ACT Government, through a separate Territory Plan, is responsible for ensuring "the planning and development of the Territory to provide the people with an attractive, safe and efficient environment in

which to live and work and have their recreation". The Territory Plan is required to be "not inconsistent" with the National Capital Plan.

The National Capital Plan and the Territory Plan are both established under the Australian Capital Territory (Planning and Land Management) Act 1988 (a federal Act).

The Authority is a Commonwealth agency and is answerable to the federal parliament, not the local ACT government.

The National Capital Plan describes the broad pattern of land use to be adopted in the development of Canberra and the Territory. General policies of the Plan also cover National and Arterial Roads, location of Commonwealth employment, heritage issues and other relevant matters of broad policy.

At a more detailed level, the Plan identifies areas that have the special characteristics of the National Capital. These are called Designated Areas. The Plan sets out detailed conditions for their planning, design and development. The Plan also sets out Special Requirements for the development of selected areas, not being Designated Areas.

Works in Designated Areas require written approval from the Authority and must meet any detailed conditions of planning, design and development set out in the Plan.

The National Capital Plan can be viewed at the following locations:

- National Capital Authority Information Centre, Treasury Building, Newlands Street, Parkes
- National Capital Exhibition, Regatta Point, Commonwealth Park
- ACT Public Libraries

Or online at http://www.nationalcapital.gov.au/plan/index.htm.

Copies of the Plan may also be purchased at the National Capital Authority Information Centre (as above) at a cost of \$74.00, or can be ordered by telephoning (02) 6271 2888.