DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND TRADE CANBERRA

Third Protocol Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia

(Hanoi, 23 July 2010)

Not yet in force [2010] ATNIF 39

Third Protocol Amending the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia

Brunei Darussalam The Kingdom of Cambodia The Republic of Indonesia The Lao People's Democratic Republic Malaysia The Union of Myanmar The Republic of the Philippines The Republic of Singapore The Kingdom of Thailand The Socialist Republic of Viet Nam The Commonwealth of Australia The People's Republic of Bangladesh The People's Republic of China The Democratic People's Republic of Korea The French Republic The Republic of India Japan Mongolia New Zealand The Islamic Republic of Pakistan Papua New Guinea The Republic of Korea The Russian Federation The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka The Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste The Republic of Turkey The United States of America

Hereinafter referred to as the High Contracting Parties:

DESIRING to ensure that there is appropriate enhancement of cooperation with all peace-loving nations both within and outside Southeast Asia, in particular, neighbouring States of the Southeast Asian region, as well as with regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States; CONSIDERING Paragraph 5 of the preamble of the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, done at Denpasar, Bali, on 24 February 1976 (hereinafter referred to as the Treaty of Amity) which refers to the need for cooperation with all peace-loving nations, both within and outside Southeast Asia, in the furtherance of world peace, stability and harmony;

HEREBY AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

Article 1

Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the Treaty of Amity shall be amended to read as follows:

"This Treaty shall be open for accession by States outside Southeast Asia and regional organisations whose members are only sovereign States subject to the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam."

Article 2

Article 14, Paragraph 2, of the Treaty of Amity shall be amended to read as follows:

"However, this article shall apply to any of the High Contracting Parties outside Southeast Asia only in cases where that High Contracting Party is directly involved in the dispute to be settled through the regional processes."

Article 3

This Protocol shall be subject to ratification and shall come into force on the date the last instrument of ratification of the High Contracting Parties is deposited.

DONE at Hanoi, Viet Nam, on the Twenty-Third Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Ten, in a single copy in the English language.