CHRCD CHRCD







Australian Government

Attorney-General's Department

Classification, Human Rights and Copyright Division

> Submission 15 TT 4 June 2008

> > .

17 June 2008

Mr James Rees Committee Secretary Joint Standing Committee on Treaties (JSCOT) Department of House of Representatives PO Box 6021 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600 AUSTRALIA

Dear Mr Rees

Joint Standing Committee on Treaties - Convention on the Rights of Person with Disabilities hearing on 16 June 2008

At the Committee's hearing on 16 June regarding possible ratification of the Convention on the Rights of Person with Disabilities, I undertook to provide information on the number of States that have signed or ratified the Convention and Optional Protocol.

As at 12 June 2008, 129 States have signed the Convention and 27 States have ratified it. For the Optional Protocol, 71 States have signed and 16 have ratified it. Details of the States that have signed or ratified the Convention or Optional Protocol are attached.

I trust this assists the Committee in its consideration.

Please contact me with any queries about this.

Yours sincerely

Healt

Peter Amaudo Assistant Secretary

Telephone: 02 6250 6420 Facsimile: 02 6250 5924 E-mail: peter.amaudo@ag.gov.au

17. JUN. 2008 10:52	CHRCD	٨	NO. 140	P. 2
	CHRCD			

## Signatories and States Parties to the Convention and Optional Protocol (as at 12 June 2008)

- 129 signatories to the Convention
- 71 signatories to the Optional Protocol
  - 27 ratifications of the Convention
- 16 ratifications of the Optional Protocol

State Party	Convention - Date Signed	Convention – Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
Algeria	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Andorra	27 April 2007		27 April 2007	
Antigua Y Barbuda	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Argentina	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Armenia	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Australia	30 March 2007			
Austria	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Azerbaijan	9 January 2008		9 January 2008	
Bahrain	25 June 2007			
Bangladesh	9 May 2007	30 November 2007		12 May 2008
Barbados	19 July 2007			
Belgium	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Benin	8 February 2008		8 February 2008	
Bolivia	13 August 2007		13 August 2007	
Brazil	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Brunei Darussalem	18 December 2007			
Bulgaria	27 September 2007			

2

State Party	Convention - Date Signed	Convention – Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
Burkina Faso	23 May 2007		23 May 2007	
Burundi	26 April 2007		26 April 2007	
Cambodia	1 October 2007		1 October 2007	
Canada	30 March 2007			
Cape Verde	30 March 2007			
Central African Republic	9 May 2007		9 May 2007	
Chile	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
China	30 March 2007			
Colombia	30 March 2007			
Comoros	26 July 2007			
Congo (Republic of)	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Costa Rica	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Cote d'Ivoire	7 June 2007		7 June 2007	
Croatia	30 March 2007	15 August 2007	30 March 2007	15 August 2007
Cuba	26 April 2007	6 September 2007		
Cyprus	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Czech Republic	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Denmark	30 March 2007			
Dominica	30 March 2007			
Dominican Republic	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Ecuador	30 March 2007	3 April 2008	30 March 2007	3 April 2008
Egypt	4 April 2007	13 April 2008		
El Salvador	30 March 2007	14 December 2007	30 March 2007	14 December 2007

State Party	Convention – Date Signed	Convention – Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
Estonia	25 September 2007			
Ethiopia	30 March 2007			
European Community	30 March 2007			
Finland	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
France	30 March 2007			
Gabon	30 March 2007	1 October 2007	25 September 2007	
Germany	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Ghana	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Greece	30 March 2007			
Guatemala	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Guinea	16 May 2007	8 February 2008	31 August 2007	8 February 2008
Guyana	30 March 2007			
Honduras	30 March 2007	14 April 2008	23 August 2007	
Hungary	30 March 2007	20 July 2007	30 March 2007	20 July 2007
Iceland	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
India	30 March 2007	1 October 2007		
Indonesia	30 March 2007			
Ireland	30 March 2007			
Israel	30 March 2007			
Italy	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Jamaica	30 March 2007	30 March 2007	30 March 2007	
Japan	28 September 2007			
Jordan	30 March 2007	31 March 2007	30 March 2007	
Kenya	30 March 2007	19 May 2008		

Briefing for JSCOT hearing 3 of 6

•

.

State Party	Convention – Date Signed	Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
Lao People's Democratic Republic	15 January 2008			
Lebanon	14 June 2007		14 June 2007	
Liberia	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Lithuania	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Luxemburg	30 March 2008		30 March 2007	
Macedonia (FYORM)	30 March 2007			
Madagascar	25 September 2007		25 September 2007	
Malawi	27 September 2007			
Malaysia	8 April 2008			
Maldives	1 October 2007			
Mali	15 May 2007	7 April 2008	15 May 2007	7 April 2008
Malta	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Mauritius	25 September 2007		25 September 2007	
Mexico	30 March 2007	17 December 2007	30 March 2007	17 December 2007
Moldova	30 March 2007			
Montenegro	27 September 2007		27 September 2007	
Могоссо	30 March 2007			
Mozambique	30 March 2007			
Namibia	25 April 2007	4 December 2007	25 April 2007	4 December 200
Nepal	3 January 2008		3 January 2008	
Netherlands	30 March 2007			

▲

State Party	Convention - Date Signed	Convention – Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
New Zealand	30 March 2007			
Nicaragua	30 March 2007	7 December 2007		
Niger	30 March 2007		2 August 2007	
Nigeria	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Norway	30 March 2007			
Oman	17 March 2008			
Panama	30 March 2007	7 August 2007	30 March 2007	7 August 2007
Paraguay	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Peru	30 March 2007	30 January 2008	30 March 2007	30 January 2008
Philippines	25 September 2007	15 April 2008		
Poland	30 March 2007			
Portugal	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Qatar	9 July 2007	13 May 2008	9 July 2007	
Republic of Korea	30 March 2007			
Romania	26 July 2007			
San Marino	30 March 2007	22 February 2008	30 March 2007	22 February 2008
Senegal	25 April 2007		25 April 2007	
Serbia	17 December 2007		17 December 2007	
Seychelles	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Sierra Leone	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Slovakia	26 July 2007		26 July 2007	
Slovenia	30 March 2007	24 April 2008	30 March 2007	24 April 2008
South Africa	30 March 2007	30 November 2007	30 March 2007	30 November 2007
Spain	30 March 2007	3 December 2007	30 March 2007	3 December 2007

▲

2

State Party	Convention - Date Signed	Convention – Date Ratified	Optional Protocol – Date Signed	Optional Protocol – Date Ratified
Sri Lanka	30 March 2007			
Sudan	30 March 2007			
Suriname	30 March 2007			
Swaziland	25 September 2007		25 September 2007	
Sweden	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
Syrian Arab Republic	30 March 2007			
Thailand	30 March 2007			
Trinidad and Tobago	27 September 2007			
Tunisia	30 March 2007	2 April 2008	30 March 2007	2 April 2008
Turkey	30 March 2007			
Uganda	30 March 2007		30 March 2007	
United Arab Emirates	8 February 2008		12 February 2008	
United Kingdom	30 March 2007			
United Republic of Tanzania	30 March 2007			
Uruguay	3 April 2007			
Vanuatu	17 May 2007			
Vietnam	22 October 2007			
Yemen	30 March 2007		11 April 2007	

۵