С

Appendix C: Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Canberra, Wednesday 31 August 2005

AusAID

Mr Robin Taylor, Acting Assistant Director, General Asia Bilateral Branch

Austrade

Mr Hamish McCormick, Executive Director, Government and Corporate Services

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Peter Baxter, First Assistant Secretary, North Asia Division

Mr William Brummitt, Director, Korea Section

Dr Leslie O'Brien, Director, Australia-Korea Foundation Secretariat

Mr Paul Robilliard, Acting First Assistant Secretary, North East Asia Branch

Embassy of the Republic of Korea

Ambassador Sang-hoon Cho, Ambassador

Mr Chung-Won Park, Commercial Councellor

Mr Hyung-won Suh, Counsellor

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Patricia Kelly, Deputy Secretary

Ms Janet Murphy, Head of Division, Tourism

Department of Education, Science and Training

Dr Alexander Aitkin, Desk Officer, Korea, Science Group

Ms Sara Cowan, Manager, International Science Branch, Science Group

Mr Jimmy Jamil, Assistant Director, North Asia, Trade Agreements and APEC Unit

Ms Kristie van Omme, Acting Director, North Asia, Trade Agreements and APEC Unit

Ms Shelagh Whittleston, Branch Manager, International Co-Operation Branch, Australian - Education International

Department of Communications, IT and the Arts

Ms Andrea Grosvenor, A/g General Manager, Regional Communications Initiatives Branch, Information and Communications Technology Division

Mr Brian Kelleher, Acting Manager, Internet Broadband and Convergence Section, Telecommunications Competition and Consumer Branch

Mr Colin Lyons, A/g Chief General Manager, Arts and Sport

Mr Colin Oliver, A/g General Manager, International Branch

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Ms Nicola Gordon-Smith, General Manager, International Trade Branch

Dr Paul Vitolovich, Acting General Manager, International Technical Branch, International Division

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Yole Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Analysis

Ms Barbara Edgar, Director, Community Liaison

Mr Glenn Elson, Assistant Director, Asia Bilateral

Mr Vince McMahon, Executive Coordinator, Border Control and Compliance

Dr Thu Nguyen-Hoan, Assistant Secretary, Multicultural Affairs

Mrs Louise Smith, Acting Assistant Secretary, Temporary Entry

Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries, Queensland

Mr Malcolm Letts, General Manager, Trade Markets and Investment, Industry and Investment

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Carolyn Barton, Manager, Uranium Industry Section, Resources Division

Ms Cathy Dillon, Manager, Minerals Development Section, Resources Division

Dr Peter Ferber, Assistant Manager, LNF and Petroleum Development Section, Offshore Resources Branch, Resourses Division

Mr John Karas, Manager, Coal Industry Section, Resources Division

Canberra, Thursday 1 September 2005

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Bruce McKellar, Foreign Secretary

Professor Roger Tanner, Fellow of the Academies

Australian Research Council

Mr Simon Sedgley, Director, Executive and External Relations

Dr Mandy Thomas, Executive Director, Humanities and Creative Arts

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Rob Vertessy, Chief, CSIRO Land and Water

Australian Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers' Association Limited

Mr Angus Robinson, Chief Executive

Maxwell and Druce

Mr Ron Maxwell

Canberra Strategic Marketing International

Mr Steve Doszpot, Managing Director

Department of Defence

Mr Chris Birrer, Director, North and South Asia, International Policy Division

Mr Ben Coleman, Assistant Secretary Asia, International Policy Division

Mrs Michele Miller, Director, International Materiel Cooperation (Europe/Asia)

Australian National University

Professor James Fox, Director, Research School of Pacific & Asian Studies

Dr Hyung-A Kim, Fellow, Department of Political and Social Change, Research School of Pacific & Asian Studies Dr Robert Ayson, Director of Studies and Fellow, Graduate Studies in Strategy and Defence, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Dr Ronald Huisken, Senior Fellow, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Dr Peter Van Ness, Visiting fellow, Contemporary China Centre, Research School of Pacific & Asian Studies

Sydney, Tuesday 20 September 2005

NSW Korean Language and Studies Association

Mr Qeefaa An, President

Korean Education Centre

Ms Sook Hee McRoberts, Korean Language Consultant, Languages Unit, Curriculum K-12 Directorate

Mrs In-Soon Park, Education Director

Overseas Korean Trade Association

Mr Young Kim

Mr Sihyun Paik, Committee Member

Mr William Bae, private capacity

Australia-Korea Business Council

Mr Daniel Moulis, Lawyer Assisting

Mr William Shields, Chairman

Mr John Wotton, Executive Director

Australian Customs Service

Mr Geoffery Gleeson, Director Operations 4, Trade Measures Branch

Mr Andrew Rice, National Manager, Trade Measures Branch

The University of New South Wales

Dr Gi-Hyun Shin, Department of Japanese and Korean Studies, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Chung-Sok Suh, Director, Korea-Australasia Research Centre

Australian Broadcasting Corporation Asia Pacific

Mr Ian Carroll, Chief Executive

Mr Jim Styles, Marketing and Sales Manager

Mr Eliot Lee, ABC Asia Pacific Representative in Korea

Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance

Miss Lynn Gailey, Federal Policy Officer

Australian Film Commission

Mr Kim Dalton, Chief Executive

Meat & Livestock Australia Limited

Dr Peter Barnard, General Manager

Ms Wendy Voss, Market Analysis and Support, Korea

Mr Andrew McCallum, Manager, Trade Policy

Caritas Australia

Mr Jack de Groot, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Margaret McCafferty, Program Coordinator, East Asia

Melbourne, Wednesday 21 September 2005

Australian Red Cross

Mr Vedran Drakulic, Communications Manager

Mr Nathan Rabe, Manager, International Operations

Mr Robert Tickner, Chief Executive Officer

North West Shelf Australia LNG

Mr John Banner, President

Woodside Energy Ltd / North West Shelf Venture

Dr Jack Hamilton, Director, North West Shelf Ventures

Mr Graeme Harman, Manager, Corporate Affairs, NSWV Corporate Affairs/HSE

The Korean Society of Victoria Australia

Mr. John Bae, President

Dr Gi Young Nahm, Chairperson, Advisory Committee to the Korean Society of Victoria

Australian Wine and Brandy Corporation

Mr Stephen Guy, Compliance Manager

Canberra, Monday 7 November 2005

Oceanis Holdings Limited

Mr Peter O'Brien, Managing Director

Individuals

Mr Mack Williams