The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Advisory report on the Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications

March 2012 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-0-642-79658-5 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79659-2 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
Terms of reference	vi
List of abbreviations	vii
List of recommendations	viii

THE REPORT

1	Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bi	
	Introduction	1
	Provisions of the bill	3
	Current regulatory framework	4
	Definitions of 'low impact' facilities	5
	Electromagnetic radiation requirements	6
	Codes of practice authorised under the Act	7
	Ministerial code	7
	Industry codes	8
	Revised industry code	10
	Compliance and the role of ACMA	12
	Issues arising from evidence	13
	General observations	13
	Notification and consultation	15
	Community views	16
	Local government views	17

Industry views	18
Committee comment	20
Electromagnetic radiation	22
Committee comment	24
Industry concerns	25
Other operational aspects of the bill	
Possible unintended consequences of the bill	27
Concluding remarks	29

APPENDICES

Appendix A – Industry codes registered under part 6 of the Telecommunica Act 1997	
Appendix B – List of Submissions	33
Appendix C – List of Exhibits	37
Appendix D – Public Hearing	39
Appendix E – Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011 and Explanatory Memorandum	41

Membership of the Committee

Chair Ms Sharon Bird MP (to 14/03/12)

Mr Nick Champion MP (from 14/03/12)

Deputy Chair Mr Paul Neville MP

Members Mr Paul Fletcher MP Mr Ed Husic MP

Mr Stephen Jones MP

Mr Robert Oakeshott MP Mrs Jane Prentice MP Mr Mike Symon MP

Supplementary The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP Member

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Ms Julia Morris	
Inquiry Secretary	Dr Kilian Perrem	
Research Officer	Ms Susan Dinon	
Administrative Officer	Mr Peter Pullen	

Terms of reference

On 22 September 2011, in accordance with standing orders 143(b) and 222(a)(iii), the Selection Committee referred the *Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011* to the Committee for an advisory report. A copy of the bill and Explanatory Memorandum is at Appendix E.

List of abbreviations

ACIF	Australian Communications Industry Forum
ACMA	Australian Communications and Media Authority
ALGA	Australian Local Government Association
AMTA	Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association
ARPANSA	Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
DA	Development Application
DBCDE	Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
EME	Electromagnetic energy
EMR	Electromagnetic radiation
FIP	Facility installation permit
ICNIRP	International Commission on Non-Ionising Radiation Protection
RF	Radiofrequency
TIO	Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman
VHA	Vodafone Hutchison Australia

List of recommendations

Recommendation 1

That the House of Representatives not pass the Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011.