The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Advisory report on Bills referred 24 November 2011

Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011 and Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill 2011

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications

February 2012 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-0-642-79644-8 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79645-5 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
Terms of reference	vi
List of abbreviations	vii
List of recommendations	ix

THE REPORT

1	Introduction1
	Purpose of the bill2
	Conduct of the inquiry3
2	Road Safety Remuneration System5
	Background to the legislation5
	Issues arising in the inquiry9
	Introduction9
	The link between remuneration and safety10
	Jurisdiction and interaction with other laws and initiatives in the road transport industry
	Challenges of a safe rates system
3	Evidence on details of the bill21
	Introduction
	Object21
	Definitions
	Road transport industry

Waiting time and distribution centre	23
Road Safety Remuneration Orders	24
Work program	24
Power to make a Road Safety Remuneration Order	25
Matters the Tribunal must have regard to	25
Making a Road Safety Remuneration Order	27
Variation of a Road Safety Remuneration Order	29
Dispute resolution	29
Review of the Act	30
Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill	
2011	31

DISSENTING REPORT

Dissenting Report—Mr Paul Neville MP, Mr Paul Fletcher MP, Mrs Jane Prentice MP, Mr Darren Chester MP	.33
APPENDICES	
Appendix A – List of Submissions	.35
Appendix B – List of Exhibits	.37
Appendix C – Public Hearing	.41
Appendix D – Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011	.43

Appendix E – Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and	
Related Provisions) Bill 2011	127

Membership of the Committee

Deputy Chair	Mr Paul Neville MP	
Members	Mr Paul Fletcher MP	Mr Robert Oakeshott MP
	Mr Ed Husic MP	Mrs Jane Prentice MP
	Mr Stephen Jones MP	Mr Mike Symon MP
Supplementary Member	Mr Darren Chester MP	

Committee Secretariat

Ms Sharon Bird MP

Secretary	Ms Julia Morris
Inquiry Secretary	Dr Kilian Perrem
Research Officer	Ms Susan Dinon
Administrative Officer	Mr Peter Pullen

Chair

Terms of reference

On 24 November 2011, in accordance with standing orders 143(b) and 222(a)(iii), the Selection Committee referred the following two bills to the Committee for an advisory report:

- Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011
- Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill 2011.

List of abbreviations

ACCI	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
ACTU	Australian Council of Trade Unions
AIG	Australian Industry Group
ALC	Australian Logistics Council
ARTIO	Australian Road Transport Industrial Organisation
CCF	Civil Contractors Federation
COAG	Council of Australian Governments
DEEWR	Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
DIT	Department of Infrastructure and Transport
EM	Explanatory Memorandum
NHVR	National Heavy Vehicle Regulator
NRFA	National Road Freighters Association
NatRoad	National Road Transport Operators Association
NTC	National Transport Commission
OHS	Occupational Health and Safety
POAAL	Post Office Agents Association Limited
RIS	Regulatory Impact Statement

RSR Road Safety Remuneration

- RSRO Road Safety Remuneration Order
- SRAG Safe Rates Advisory Group
- TWUA Transport Workers' Union of Australia

List of recommendations

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the House should consider and pass the bills.

<u>x</u>_____