

## SELECT COMMITTEE ON ADOPTING ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE (AI)

## Select Committee on Adopting Artificial Intelligence (AI)

## PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 21 May 2024

## The Grace Hotel 77 York St, Sydney

| Time     | Witness   |
|----------|---|
| 9.00 am  | Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) (Submission 67) Mr Joe Longo, Chair Ms Calissa Aldridge, Executive Director, Markets Mr Graham Jefferson, Digital and Legal Transformation Lead   |
| 10.00 am | Centre of the Public Square, Per Capita (Submission 20) Mr Peter Lewis, Convenor Mr Jordan Guiao, Director of Responsible Technology  |
|          | Human Technology Institute, UTS (Submission 69) Professor Edward Santow, Director, Policy and Governance Professor Sally Cripps, Director, Technology Professor Nicholas Davis, Director, Strategy and Operations   |
| 11.00 am | Break   |
| 11.15 am | Australian Information Industry Association (Submission 73) Mr Simon Bush, CEO  |
| 12.15 pm | Australian Artificial Intelligence Institute, UTS (Submission 62) Distinguished Professor Jie Lu AO, Director   |
|          | AI Institute, UNSW (Submission 59) Professor Toby Walsh, Chief Scientist  |
| 1.00 pm  | Lunch   |
| 1.45 pm  | Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) (Submission 64) Mr Vince Caughley, NSW Division Secretary Mr Bernard Smith, NSW Branch Secretary Mr Joseph Mitchell, Assistant Secretary Mr Sunil Kemppi, Senior Legal and Industrial Officer Mr Jack Boutros, Campaigner |
| 2.30 pm  | Tech Council of Australia Mr Ryan Black, Acting CEO Ms Erika Ly, Policy Manager   |
| 3.15 pm  | Adjournment   |