

## SELECT COMMITTEE ON ADOPTING ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE (AI)

## Select Committee on Adopting Artificial Intelligence (AI)

## PUBLIC HEARING Monday 20 May 2024

## 1R0, Main Committee Room Australian Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	CSIRO (Submission 63) Ms Stela Solar, Director, National Artificial Intelligence Centre CSIRO Data61 Dr Stefan Hajkowicz, Chief Research Consultant, CSIRO Data61
10.00 am	Australia's Chief Scientist Dr Catherine Foley
10.45 am	Break
11.00 am	Australian Electoral Commission (Submission 60) Mr Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner Mr Jeff Pope, Deputy Electoral Commissioner Mr Michael Lynch, First Assistant Commissioner, Electoral Integrity and Operations Group Mr Thomas Ryan, First Assistant Commissioner, Enterprise Transformation Group Mr Andrew Johnson, Chief Legal Officer
12.00 pm	Distinguished Professor Genevieve Bell, Vice-Chancellor and President, founder of ANU 3Ai Institute and ANU School of Cybernetics
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.45 pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 71) Mrs Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner
2.45 pm	Break
3.00 pm	Gradient Institute Mr Bill Simpson-Young, Chief Executive
3.45 pm	School of Cybernetics, ANU (Submission 70) Associate Professor Andrew Meares, Deputy Director and Associate Professor Associate Professor Matthew Holt, Associate Director (Education) Mrs Maia Gould, Cybernetics Engagement Lead
	<b>Centre for Public Awareness of Science, ANU</b> (Submission 65) Dr Ehsan Nabavi, Head of Responsible Innovation Lab
	<b>Tech Policy Design Centre, ANU</b> (Submission 68) Ms Zoe Hawkins, Head of Policy Design
4.30 pm	Adjournment