### **MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE**

Senator J Quirke, Chairman Senator R Lightfoot, Deputy Chairman Senator H Coonan Senator J McGauran Senator S. Mackay Senator A Murray Senator B Brown South Australia Western Australia New South Wales Victoria Tasmania Western Australia Tasmania

# COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN THE 38<sup>TH</sup> PARLIAMENT

Senator J Quirke, Chairman Senator W Crane, Deputy Chairman Senator The Hon W Heffernan Senator D Margetts Senator J McGauran Senator A Murray Senator The Hon N Sherry

#### Secretariat

Current		Previous
Secretary	Frank Nugent	Peter Hallahan Pippa Carron
Principal Research Officer	Robyn Hardy	
Principal Research Officer	David Butt	
Research Officer		Margaret Cahill
Executive Officer	Saxon Patience	<b>Rosalind McMahon</b>
		Sonia Hailles

#### **Committee Address**

Suite SG 64 Parliament House, CANBERRA ACT 2600 Phone: (02) 6277 3129 Fax (02) 6277 3130 Email: ncp@aph.gov.au This report is also available on the Internet at: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/senate</u>

### PREFACE

The Committee's Terms of Reference were complex and wide-ranging, and in recent times, 'competition policy' has become an emotionally charged subject.

Nevertheless, the Committee is grateful to the many individuals and organisations who took the time to write to the Committee to express their views or who appeared at the public hearings conducted in the various states.

## **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

To inquire into and report on the National Competition Policy, including:

(a) its socio-economic consequences, including benefits and costs, on:

- (i) unemployment,
- (ii) changed working conditions,
- (iii) social welfare,
- (iv) equity,
- (v) social dislocation, and
- (vi) environmental impacts;
- (b) the impact on urban and rural and regional communities;
- (c) its relationship with other micro-economic reform policies; and

(d) clarification of the definition of public interest and its role in the National Competition process.