## **Senate Select Committee on Mental Health**

## PUBLIC HEARING CANBERRA

Friday 28 October 2005 8:45am –4:30pm

## Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House Canberra

## **PROGRAM**

8:45 – 9:30	Commonwealth Ombudsman (No submission)
	Professor John McMillan, Ombudsman
9:30 – 10:15	Private Health Insurance Industry Ombudsman (No submission)
	Mr John Powlay, Ombudsman
10:15 – 11:00	Medicines Australia (Submission 389)
	Dr Brendan Shaw, Senior Manager, Policy and Research
	Mr David Grainger, Chair, Health Policy Development Strategic Committee (also a director at Ely Lilly Pharmaceuticals)
11:00 – 11:15	Morning Tea
11.15 – 12:00	Australian College of Psychological Medicine (Submission 411)
	Dr Carole Castles, President
12:00 – 12:45	Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (Submission 311)
	Dr Leanne Rowe, Member, RACGP Council
12:45 – 1:45	Lunch
1:45 – 2:30	Probation and Community Corrections Officers' Association Incorporated (PACCOA) (Submission 503)
	Ms Dale Kift, Member, State Executive Mr Brian Norman, Member, State Executive, immediate past President
2:30 – 3.15	Mr Douglas McIver and Mrs Janice McIver (Submission 317)
3:15 – 3:30	Afternoon tea
3:30 – 4:30	Mental Health Council of Australia (MHCA) (Submission 262)
	Mr John Mendoza, Chief Executive Officer
	The Hon Mr Keith Wilson, MHCA Chair
	Professor Ian Hickie, Director of the Brain and Mind Research Institute (BMRI) and Clinical Advisor to the MHCA
	Ms Ingrid Ozols, Consumer and MHCA Board Executive Member
	Mr Sebastian Rosenberg, Deputy Chief Executive Officer