APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES AT HEARINGS

Monday, 25 March 2002 - Canberra

Commander Norman Banks Commanding Officer, HMAS *Adelaide*, Royal Australian Navy

Dr Allan Hawke, Secretary, Department of Defence

Vice Admiral David Shackleton, Chief of Navy, Royal Australian Navy

Tuesday, 26 March 2002 - Canberra

Commander Norman Banks, Commanding Officer, HMAS *Adelaide*, Royal Australian Navy

Thursday, 4 April 2002 - Canberra

Commander Norman Banks, Commanding Officer, HMAS *Adelaide*, Royal Australian Navy

Rear Admiral Chris Ritchie, Commander Australian Theatre, Royal Australian Navy

Brigadier Mike Silverstone, Commander Northern Command, Royal Australian Navy

Rear Admiral Geoffrey Smith, Maritime Commander, Royal Australian Navy

Friday, 5 April 2002 - Canberra

Rear Admiral Geoffrey Smith, Maritime Commander, Royal Australian Navy

Thursday, 11 April 2002 - Canberra

Rear Admiral Geoffrey Smith, Maritime Commander, Royal Australian Navy

Friday, 12 April 2002 - Canberra

Admiral Christopher Barrie, Chief of the Defence Force, Department of Defence

Air Vice Marshal Alan Titheridge, Head Strategic Command, Department of Defence

Tuesday, 16 April 2002 - Canberra

Mr William Farmer, Secretary,

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Jane Halton, Former Chair, People Smuggling Taskforce, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr Robert Illingworth, Assistant Secretary, Onshore Protection, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Edward Killesteyn, Deputy Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Vincent McMahon, First Assistant Secretary, Offshore Centre Management and Infrastructure Division, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Desmond Storer, First Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Legal Division, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Wednesday, 17 April 2002 - Canberra

Mr Tim Bloomfield, Director of Media Liaison, Department of Defence

Commander Piers Chatterton, Director of Operations - Navy, Royal Australian Navy

Colonel Stephen Day, Deputy Commandant, Australian Defence Force Academy

Group Captain Gregory Evans, Chief of Staff to Chief of Defence Force, Department of Defence

Air Marshal Allan (Angus) Houston, Chief of Air Force, Royal Australian Airforce

Mr Brian Humphreys, Director General, Communication Strategies, Department of Defence

Ms Jennifer McKenry, Head, Public Affairs and Corporate Communication, Department of Defence

Mr Andrew Stackpool, Public Affairs Officer, Directorate of Media Liaison, Public Affairs and Corporate Communications, Department of Defence

Thursday, 18 April 2002 - Canberra

Ms Jennifer Bryant, Assistant Secretary, Education and Immigration Branch, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Vice Admiral (Retired) Sir Richard Peek

Mr Andrew Podger, Public Service Commissioner, Public Service and Merit Protection Commission

Associate Professor Hugh Smith, School of Politics, Australian Defence Force Academy

Ms Anne-Maree Tiernan, Senior Research Assistant, School of Politics, Griffith University

Dr John Uhr, Senior Fellow, Political Science Program, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University

Professor Patrick Weller, Deputy Director, Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice and Governance, Griffith University

Wednesday, 1 May 2002 - Canberra

Mr Geoffrey Barker, Journalist, Australian Financial Review

Mr Clive Davidson, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr Graeme Dobell, Foreign Affairs and Defence Correspondent, Radio Australia

Mr James Ensor, Director, Public Policy, Oxfam Community Aid Abroad

Ms Susan Harris, National Refugee Team, Amnesty International Australia

Mr John Hodges, Chairman, Immigration Detention Advisory Group c/- Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Tony Kevin, Private Capacity

Mr Ian McPhedran, Bureau Chief, News Ltd

Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe, Deputy Director General, Pacific Contracts and Corporate Policy, AusAID

Dr John Pace, Expert, Amnesty International Australia

Dr Geoff Raby, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Malcolm Reid, Manager, Advocacy, Oxfam Community Aid Abroad

Mr Charles Tapp, Deputy Director General, PNG and Global Programs, AusAID

Dr Graham Thom, Refugee Coordinator, Amnesty International Australia

Mr James Wise, First Assistant Secretary, South Pacific, Africa and Middle East Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Thursday, 2 May 2002 - Canberra

Commander Stefan King, Deputy Director, Capability Resourcing, Navy Capability, Performance and Plans Branch, Navy Headquarters, Department of Defence

Ms Harinder Sidhu, Senior Adviser, Defence, Intelligence and Security Branch, International Division, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Wednesday, 22 May 2002 – Canberra

Rear Admiral Marcus Bonser, Director General, Coastwatch, Australian Customs Service

Ms Katrina Edwards, Former First Assistant Secretary, Social Policy Division, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr Michael James O'Connor, Executive Director, Australia Defence Association

Group Captain Steven Walker, Director of Joint Operations, Strategic Command Division, Department of Defence

Thursday, 13 June 2002 – Canberra

Dr Brendon Hammer, Former Assistant Secretary, Defence, Intelligence and Security Branch, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms Harinder Sidhu, Senior Adviser, Defence, Intelligence and Security Branch, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Thursday, 11 July 2002 - Canberra

Mr Clive Davidson, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Colonel Patrick Gallagher, Commander, Australian Theatre Joint Intelligence Centre

Commissioner Michael Keelty, Commissioner, Australian Federal Police

Mr Edward Killesteyn, Deputy Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Federal Agent Brendon McDevitt, General Manager, National, Australian Federal Police

Mr Vincent McMahon, Acting Deputy Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Nelly Siegmund, Assistant Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Tuesday, 30 July 2002

Air Commodore Phillip Byrne, Commander, Maritime Patrol Group, Royal Australian Airforce

Ms Jane Halton, Former Chair, People Smuggling Taskforce, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet